Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Battery Error

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by dnthomas, Dec 23, 2015.

  1. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Had Phantom 3 Pro about 3 weeks. I have a battery that immediately powers the aircraft on even though the battery appears to be off? I have it running now to discharge. Going to try to include a pic of the battery screen in the app showing Battery Error, please check. The battery percentage in upper right turns blue with a bolt on the little battery image that I generally associated with a charging battery ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1450918247.173415.jpg
     
  2. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    So the battery has no lights on, you insert it into the phantom.
    Then the phantom turns on?
    or
    The battery lights come on?
    or
    What?
    Of coarse you just have the 1 battery.
     
  3. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    I have two batteries, the other works fine. This one when I insert it in the Phantom the aircraft just comes on as if I had turned the battery on, gimbal check etc lights start flashing. I can push the power button twice and it acts as if battery turns off but power to aircraft continues so aircraft remains powered regardless of whether any lights are on on the battery
     
    #3 dnthomas, Dec 23, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2015
  4. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Should say gimbal check
     
  5. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Wow,
    I have a Standard, No help from me from here out, but whoa.
    o_O
     
  6. John N Kronyak

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    50
    I'd send the battery back. It's defective. Doesn't matter why.
     
  7. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Yep, If everything works with other battery I would not mess with it.
     
  8. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Thanks all I will be sending it back. Do I need a number or something from them first or just send it
     
  9. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Well DJI responded asking me to discharge to less than 5% and recharge and send them battery history
     
  10. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Let us know what happens!
     
  11. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    I shall trying to figure out how to discharge it since I can't start the Phantom with it
     
  12. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
  13. dnthomas

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    16
    Actually got several emails from dji China over the holidays, they had me try a couple of things (cycle charge and update) but neither solved the problem. They told me I needed warranty service and passed me off to DJI US and I'm sending my battery to them. Considering the holidays, been impressed with the communication thus far
     
  14. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,618
    Likes Received:
    361
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Thanks for the update!