Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Batteries have different charging lights

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Graeme_cam, Aug 30, 2016.

  1. Graeme_cam

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    I bought a Phantom 3 standard a few months ago and have just bought a second battery for it. When I plug the old battery in to charge from 25% (for example) it blinks the 1st light until it's charged to 50%, then it it blinks the 2 lights etc...

    The new battery however, when plugged in cycles through all 4 lights twice then starts blinking the 1st light like the other battery. It seems to charge fine and fly fine but I'm just wondering if it maybe has old firmware on it? I haven't seen any way to check the battery firmware or be able to update it through the app?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    745
    Location:
    Australia
    You ensure your battery has the latest firmware by powering it up in the AC while you have the latest FW update file on the SD card.
     
  3. Graeme_cam

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the firmware and it appears that DJI have removed any reference to it from their website and upgrading is only available from the app now...
     
  4. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum. I hope that you will take advantage of the benefits that come with membership and that you will be able to use the forum for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Phantom quadcopter’s.

    Why not use the app to do it?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,066
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    DJI does not link the P3S firmware updates on their website since they are all installed through DJI GO. I have them listed here.
     
  6. Storm

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    34