Basic purchase advice.

Reaction score
I'm new to Quads and just jumped in to the entry level.(Phantom 1) I see now it'll be very advantageous to have FPV. I have done some shopping and read some articles but I'm just not sure how my best money would be spent. Since my Quad is "an old model" I wondered if I should save money and go the same route with an old model of FPV equipment.

I have a Gopro 3+ black already, and a gimble so I'm unsure of just what else I would need and the best place to get it.

Any suggesting helping we wade through this jungle of adds and out of date information would be greatly appreciated.Thank you.

Jeff from Illinois

There are lots of different paths you can take depending upon how much you can spend and how much you can tinker and assemble yourself.
You can buy ready-made kits that require minimal tinkering, or you can put stuff together yourself and save a lot of money (though possibly have to deal with some frustration).
At a minimum, you need a video transmitter, receiver, monitor, and the video cable for the GoPro.
Adding as OSD is a good idea, though with a P1 there are extra complications, since it doesn't have a built-in CAN bus for the DJI OSD.
You might investigate this option: http://www.ebay.com/itm/281489918226
Otherwise, you'd need to upgrade to get a CAN bus. One way is to change the main board to a P2 main board.

City Zen thanks for the advise and link!! I guess I should have said in the "request for help" tinkering skills with boards and such are not that good. I have toasted many electrical devises over the years. So plug and play is probably my best bet. I can solder and heat shrink but my skills, especially trouble shooting skills with small electronic devises equal that of a "Ferguson Missouri looter!" Thanks again.