Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Balancing Props Against the Other 3 Props

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Cacc, Jun 27, 2015.

1. Cacc

I have been flying single propeller RC planes for many years so I know the advantage and necessity of balancing props. But coming from the plane world, I don't have much experience in the way of multi-rotor aircraft. I follow the same steps that I always have where I sand until the one side of the propeller is perfectly balanced to the other (less worry about the hub, but I do check that too from time to time).

A question for those that have flown multi-rotor aircraft for a while, is it necessary to balance the propeller against the other three? If you are sanding a fine amount off of one, it now has a slightly different weight and shape than the rest. Do this put extra stress on one of the motors (or the other three) and does this affect flight or the camera at all? I have not noticed any issues thus far and quite frankly the Phantom itself is not exactly balanced itself (which I assume is what the IMU calibration determines)...

2. rmfa

The balance is for one rotor. You don't have to balance each rotor to the other rotors. You are thinking too hard about this.

3. rmfa

Honestly, that doesn't even make sense. How would you know how much to shave off the other rotors?

4. snerd

Well, that's why he asked the question. Now he knows! ;)

Coldfire likes this.
  5. Cacc

DEFINITELY way over thinking this, but that is what the mind does at the wee hours of the night.