Balanced props

Reaction score
Hi. How much important it is to use proper balanced props and what is the best method to do it. Thanks

:D balanced props are very important, here's some good info:

WillU said:
Just did a couple test I thought you guys might be interested in. I'm by no means an expert, so I'd love to hear your guys' opinions and thoughts. I really wanted to like the carbon fiber props but was mostly surprised by the set of counterfeit phantom 2 props I purchased.

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2DbKyZsRxM[/youtube]

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8gBX8NNPtvs[/youtube]

Well, unless you want a flying weeble wobble, I'd say prop balancing is very important. Ok so it might not be that crazy with some unbalanced props, but it's never fun to fly a phantom that drifts around too much or has poor control because of an unbalanced prop. As for the best way to balance props, I guess use a good prop balancer? Not sure what other methods would be in question really. :?

Thanks. I recently got a set of XOXO 9450 props, and for what I have read those needs special attention to their balance. Once determined that a prop need to be balanced, how to do it?

phantomi said:
Thanks. I recently got a set of XOXO 9450 props, and for what I have read those needs special attention to their balance. Once determined that a prop need to be balanced, how to do it?

Yea, I have a set of those xoxo props and they're way off balance. As for balancing them, here's good video that explains it pretty good. Not much too it really, just put them on the balancer so the blades are horizontal to the ground and the heavier side will tend to rotate the prop clockwise or counter clockwise. The heavier side gets scrubbed with a fine grained sandpaper and put back on the balancer until the prop stays level or close to level at least. Anyways, here's the vid.

[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eVdVa0jWowI[/youtube]