Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Bad video signal on short range?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by erikhrast, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello... OK i admit I bought low budget FPV kit from eBay.
    But anyway is it normal to have video noise on few meter distance???
    Look video: https://vimeo.com/110567401


    I still have standard anntenas. I ordered circular ones...
    Do you think this is the issue?

    Thank you for help,
    Erik
     
  2. harryb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    First off, it depends on the kit you bought, ie the power of the Tx, and whether the channels are an exact match on the Rx. Sorting out better antennas will almost certainly help. What kit was it?

    Have you tried it outside to get an idea of how far you can get before breakup of the image, in a clear line of sight area?
     
  3. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. harryb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you checked the channels on the Tx and Rx are set to the same? The dip switch combinations will be different, so use the user manual for each to select a channel, and see what kind of range you get outside. Then cycle through the channels and repeat until you get the strongest signal. Then try it with the new antennas. It should increase the range to at least a couple of hundred meters. You may need a patch/helical antenna on the receiver for more range than that.
     
  5. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you mean that differet channels has different (better) signal?
    Currently I have CH1 5705Mhz on both..
     
  6. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    When I'm testing things inside (not flying) I get a lot of interference on my screen .
    Have you taken it outside for a fly ?
     
  7. harryb

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, quite possibly. Especially if there is interference locally on your current channel.
     
  8. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im waiting at the moment to get better LiPo battery to supply LCD and receiver.. then I will try again.
     
  9. SteveMann

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,977
    Likes Received:
    653
    Location:
    Westford, MA
    Yes.
    As your Phantom moves, you will experience some dropout every 25.8 mm. This is why diversity receivers are recommended for this kind of operation. Better antennas will help the range but you will always have dead spots every 25mm. Even with the best optimized setups you will get an occasional dropout from reflections, especially near buildings.
     
  10. wetauser

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    what frequency is your flight remote controller.
     
  11. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Today I fly on open area... my signal is lost after ap. 10m..
    Why? :(

    Don't know what frequency is remote controller..
     
  12. wetauser

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the remote control is using 5.8 , the P2V+ uses this frequency , then this would cause interference on the video signal.I noticed on your video that it was when you used the sticks that you lost signal.
     
  13. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see... where can I check remote frequency?
    It's original Phantom remote...
     
  14. wetauser

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Operating frequency should be on specification label at the back of the remote ,mine says 5.728-5.858 GHz.
     
  15. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine is 2.404-2.476 GHz
    FPV is 5.8...
     
  16. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    It really looks like your Video transmitter or receiver is having a defect.
    Try it without antenna on the receiver, is it the same? In that case the receiver is defect in some way. Could be the antenna connector. Never try this on the Tx side because you will fry the transmitter without antenna mounted.
     
  17. erikhrast

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2014
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think I found out what's wrong... TX is CH1 and RX is CH8 !!! wtf
    With this settings the video is not lost if I walk indoor from room to room... I must try it outside.
    Waiting for better weather... will let you know :)