Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Bad signal, BlackPearl

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by Haugen, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have ImmersionRC - 600mW 5.8GHz A/V Transmitter
    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... cts_id=266
    And FatShark antenna.
    http://www.quadcopters.co.uk/immersion- ... -464-p.asp

    I have Phantom 2.

    With the Fatshark antenna, the signal is really bad. The signal actually gets worse when connecting.
    If it helps, I had to buy an adapter to have it fit.
    BlackPearl has RP-SMA Female and FatShark antenna is SMA-Male. I had to buy an adapter to have it fit. But the signal is worse when connection. When disconnecting the signal is really good compared. What's wrong?

    When putting my finger around the connection, the signal is somewhat better.
     
  2. Zinnware

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    You need to provide more information to allow folks to help you. What is the exact model of the Black Pearl monitor. Does it have diversity. Do you have two antennas attached to the monitor? Have you read the instructions? What channel have you set the Black Pearl? If the Black Pearl has diversity, then what mode are you in RX1, RX2 or DIV? How far are you from the Phantom when you are testing the signal.
     
  3. q8f1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    As above.

    I've just got a simple cloverleaf setup on my BP/P2 and 1 standard black antenna and I got as far as 1km away and still get a picture although snowy. Cheers.
     
  4. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I'm pretty new, but if you have a different connection on your BP with RP-SMA, it sounds like you have the 32 channel model. That one doesn't work as well as the 7 channel model, which they say is set up specifically for the Immersion and Fatshark Trasmitters.

    read the description here
    http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Black-Pearl- ... annel.html
     
  5. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your feedback.
    It has diversty. I'm in DIV. That's absolutely the best, but still not good. I'm in channel four. I'm around 1m when testing, and it's getting worse, really bad when going further.

    It works fine with the standard antenna that comes with the ImmersionRC. It starts getting bad after around 1km. Using Fatshark antenna on the Immersion.

    I'm pretty sure I got the 8 channel, as the instruction says.

    Model is Rc801
     
  6. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I just looked up that model number
    http://3drobotics.com/wp-content/upload ... onitor.pdf

    It's the 32 channel (page 9). You can use that monitor, but it's not going to get much better range. You can either switch Transmitters or try to return that 32channel and get the 7Channel.
     
  7. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crap! I did not know that!
    Just tried band F. Haven't turned on the Phantom to see if there's any difference. I'll ask my retailer. But I doubt they want it back now...

    Thanks for your answer!
     
  8. freefall101

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    You'll need a 7 channel one, I usually have good range and picture quality on mine. Maybe look into selling your 32 channel if the seller won't accept it back for a refund/replacement, and buy the 7 channel. More strength in the F band range I believe.
     
  9. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haven't heard from RangeVideo yet, but I doubt I can return it after 2 weeks of use and testing.
    And who would want to buy a monitor which won't give the best result?
    But I'll try selling my monitor if RangeVideo won't take it back.
     
  10. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston

    The 32ch monitors aren't bad. They just aren't suited for Immersion/fatshark Transmitters. You could just buy a new transmitter. I'm not 100% sure which ones work the best with the 32ch, but you should get the same range.
     
  11. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    A new transmitter would be cheaper than a new monitor. Have to google around to find a transmitter.
    But I have this cabel installed; http://www.firstpersonview.co.uk/cables ... ransmitter
    Not sure this cable will work with another transmitter without soldering and workarounds.
     
  12. q8f1

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    "The 32ch monitors aren't bad. They just aren't suited for Immersion/fatshark Transmitters."

    That's a relief, I've just brought a 32channel one not knowing the difference. Oh and the transmitter is a boscam 200mw.

    Thanks for the info, cheers Mark
     
  13. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston

    I'll wait for someone else to hop on and answer this for you. I see you found that other thread. They mention a couple times the transmitters that work with the 32ch. You could also call the retailer and see what they suggest. I'd hope they'd make another plug n' play wire that works for you.
     
  14. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried the standard antenna, and I only got 350 meters before the signal went bad enough for me to handle the drone safely. And I'm on channel 4, band F. Still waiting for RangeVideo to answer my request for a return. So something is not right. Read somewhere that someone got 1 km before the signal went bad.
     
  15. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Same antenna connector, yes (SMA). However the wiring on the video/power plugs is different...don't try to connect an Immersion cable to a Flysight transmitter (or vice versa).
     
  17. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess this one will work: http://www.dpcav.com/xcart/Video-Cable- ... xtech.html
    Just swap the Immersion cable: http://www.firstpersonview.co.uk/cables ... ransmitter
    ?
     
  18. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
  19. Haugen

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll go for that and try with these antennas: http://www.dronefly.com/product-p/flysrxtx.htm
    It'll work, right?

    And sell the Immersion transmitter and antenna + cables.
    If RangeVideo accept the request for return I'll just have to choose what I want. From what I'm reading there's not much difference between Immersion and Flysight if you just choose the correct receiver.
     
  20. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Those antennae won't work with the Flysight Transmitter, it has SMA and they are RP-SMA. You'll need to be sure of which connector type your Black Pearl has....if it's 32 channels and you bought it at rangevideo then it has RP-SMA.

    Use this guide for the connector types: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=22736