Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Backpack for P2 that will fit installed Props

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jgarraffo, Jan 2, 2015.

  1. jgarraffo

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was very excited when there was a phantom backpack under the Christmas tree this year. I was quickly disappointed when I learned that it didn't fit the Phantom with props installed. This is an issue for me because I have T-Motors on and it's really a hassle to remove the props. There is no "tool" available so I end up using RoboGrips (see http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=32073&start=10). Someone suggested the backpack that DSLRPro's uses in their Expedition Series, but they don't sell that as a standalone product, from what I see.

    This is the backpack I just got. It seems to be able to do the job. I just have a problem removing props each time
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00JLZ9YD4...olid=2HABT2D8DGQ9G&coliid=IKMCA74JEOMMW&psc=1
     
  2. jgarraffo

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    :D
    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/control ... details&Q=
    This is the one I have. Also does not allow for installed props. Just barely fits in small commercial airplane overhead bins. It weighs 14.5 lbs. fully loaded with 4 batteries and the rest of my flight gear. I think a backpack that would carry a Phantom with the props installed would be too big.
     
  4. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    I have the same case posted above, GoProffessional. You can leave the 2 left props installed if that helps. Really happy with this pack. I will probably get their hard case as well for airline travel. Just afraid if the overheads are full they will make me check it.
     
  5. robsquad

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2014
    Messages:
    962
    Likes Received:
    422
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK
  6. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    :D
    I also have the hard case. It will fit in some aircraft overhead, just check their size restrictions for carry on before getting to the airport. Most airlines will require 42"-45" combined total dimensions. No lipos are allowed to be checked into cargo unless they are installed in the device. The Go Professional backpack will fit as carry-on even on the small commuter prop. aircraft. The airlines will give you room in the cabin if you tell them you have lipo batteries, but not if the case exceeds their carry-on size limit.