Backing out new Phantom to pre-No Fly Zone status

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to Phantom Pilots and this is my first post, so please be kind. Having said that, I would really appreciate your help, if you don't mind.

We run an aerial photography business in Saskatchewan, Canada with several UAVs. I am a certified UAV pilot and we hold a Transport Canada blanket license for UAV operation, including airport control zones for our area. Recently we purchased a Phantom 2 with the 3 axis gimbal for doing lower budget jobs such as real estate advertising, for clients who can't afford a two person crew and where large cameras and 4K acquisition is overkill.

Yesterday I did our first flight with our Phantom 2 and was amazed with the quality we got from the new 3 axis gimbal. My biggest disappointment was the no fly zone restriction. I was shooting a house about 1.6 miles from the airport and I could only get the Phantom to 3 meters off the ground. We are certified to fly at the airport and in fact we have a contract there and have been shooting at our international airport for a year. We work with Nav Canada and file Notams for our airport work, but now we can't even fire up our Phantom within 1.5 miles of the airport and we have work to do in that area.

I understand it is possible to go back to an earlier version of the software, version 2, or pre-fly zone restrictions for our Phantom. Can anyone tell me where we can access this? It appears DJI has taken these software products off its site. Any assistance with solving this mystery would be truly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jack Tunnicliffe
www.javapost.ca

You should probably contact DJI and explain the problem to them.
They may be able to rewrite the software for your needs.
If I were in your position doing that work, I'd be looking at getting the new inspire.