B&H FPV

Reaction score
I am a newbie and trying to get an FPV setup and need to buy from B&H since its close to me and their replacement policy is impeccable. I would like to see what my GoPro sees. My uses are:

-vacation (beaches, sunsets, waterfalls, nature)
-following my car
-going across the east river
-shots of major bridges
-client work (real estate, weddings, etc)

My budget is about $500.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/

Should I get a monitor or goggles?

Of the following, which brands should I get?:
a (mini) iOSD
TX that can transmit 3000 feet or more than the Phantom itself
Goggles or monitor
any other items I may need.

Thanks!

the iOSD mini is optional, all it does is overlay telemetry info (height, speed, direction, battery level, etc) over the FPV broadcast. it's nifty, and some might argue it's essential for making sure you don't run out of battery if you're focused on the FPV screen and not watching the Phantom's LEDs (or far away and can't see them) for low battery warning,but it's a corner you can cut if you really need to. I wouldn't.

Goggles are supposed to be great for a more immersive flight experience, but if you've been researching at all you should have noticed that the cheapest, worst goggles start at 250 (half your budget) and go up from there to over 600. For comparison, a decent monitor like the Boscam RX-LCD5802 (common around here) can be found for 150 from asia, leaving you more room for other items. There's comparable monitors at B&H in the low 200's.

If you really lock yourself to B&H, as far as I can tell you're eliminating pretty much everything other than DJI official equipment for the transmitter on the phantom... the DJI AVL58 which supposedly has specs in line with what you want. B&H sells this kit for $209, which has a separate receiver you'll have to plug into a screen but at least it comes with decent antennas.
B&H does sell Fatshark equipment if you go with goggles I believe they'll receive the signal directly.