AVL58 Only Good For About 20 Yards - Thoughts?

Reaction score
Hi folks!

First, yes, I am a newbie to FPV. I've had my P2 for a couple months now and am quite confident in flight, so I decided to add FPV. I did a lot of research, and I understand that there are a million individual opinions on what's "best" and two million combinations of gear. Being new to FPV, I went with what seemed like the most user friendly solution - a "plug & play" kit with the FPV Hub, AVL58, iOSD Mini, and Black Pearl monitor.

This was added to my existing H3-3D and GoPro.

Easy installation - Check.

Nice, clear picture and iOSD overlay from P2 to monitor while both are on the ground - Check.

Performance in flight - Meh.

I was able to only get about 20 yards out before the picture started breaking up. Beyond that, I lost it completely.

Through searching and reading a lot of discussions, I have checked the obvious - antenna tightness, correct channels on TX and RX, etc.

One obvious question that I didn't easily find an existing answer to - does the placement of the AVL58 matter? At the moment, I have it mounted underneath the battery compartment with the antenna sticking out the back of the P2 like a little tail. So my first thought - is the proximity to the battery causing interference? (I do have photos that I can add if it would help).

If that is the problem though, with the H3-3D, Hub, and iOSD already taking up real estate on the underbelly, there really aren't any better options for the TX placement.

I'm hoping I didn't get duds on either the TX or RX end and that there's something really obvious that I can try.

Please be kind to a newbie!

Thanks!

I mounted my iOSD inside (stripped from case) and my TX is where yours is. What type of antennas are you using? What is the orientation of the antennas? Photos would help. ;)

Reactions: dirkclod