Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Autopilot for DJI IOS App - thoughts?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by bryan0026, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. bryan0026

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    18
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I know there are posts already on this subject but wanted some thoughts on the app in general. I had heard of it before but didn't know much about it. The reviews were good enough for me to purchase it but looks like a learning curve. Is anyone using it that can provide good insight? Thoughts? I'm a newbie. Thanks.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    I purchased this, but I haven't had a chance to fly with it yet (the weather hasn't been cooperating lately). I have started going through their documentation and videos. It's very comprehensive and explains everything well. That information can be accessed via the "Flight School" section within their app.
     
  3. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    Very interesting features with a sizable learning curve. Smoother video footage when it is steering.

    There are several features I'm really missing from DJI Go like return to home, split view map/camera on my phone, calibrating my compass and camera controls. I don't like that there is no green line pointing back to me on the map. It makes it harder to get back to base.

    I think they need to take some time away from innovating on new features and add some of the basics from the DJI app.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Why don't you just use the RTH button on your remote controller?
     
  5. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    I like course lock. I don't want the p3 to try and land
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    You can press and hold the RTH button to cancel it when your Phantom is near the home point. Then, just land it yourself.
     
  7. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    How do you cancel in autopilot? It tried to cancel a RTH operation when I had low battery and I didn't seem to have the option to cancel.
     
  8. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,026
    Likes Received:
    5,600
    Location:
    US
    Hold down the RTH button on your remote controller.
     
    jimerb likes this.
  9. Palmai Universe

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Australia
    How does Autopilot compare to FPV Camera + Mission Planner bundle?

    I had FPV Camera and the Misson Planner but have yet to try it out.
     
  10. Slow Polk

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Salem, Oregon USA
    So let me understand what your are saying. If you are in autopilot and push and hold RTH button it will shut down autopilot and start up DJI GO? Or are you saying that it will land as normal and still stay in autopilot? Everything I read in autopilot is unclear on what will happen. Thanks.
     
  11. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    If you are using Autopilot and engage return to home , the Autopilot app will stay on and it will land. You are still able to control the craft during RTH.
    It took about 10 minutes to setup this waypoint flight today.

     
    jimerb likes this.
  12. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    To be more specific, the Flight Dashboard will show a yellow warning that says RC Override, which is the same warning that is displayed if you toggle the Flight Mode switch from F to P. In either case, Autopilot has been overridden by the RC.
     
  13. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    You can also just flip the Flight Mode switch from F to P or P to F.
     
  14. Slow Polk

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Salem, Oregon USA
    So if I push RTH or go from F to P and it is on it's way home is it possible to reengage Autopilot and resume a mission? I have the app but am still working on learning all the ins and outs. Also waiting for some good weather here in the Willamette Valley.
     
  15. Slow Polk

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Salem, Oregon USA
    That is cool but why was there so much flickering going on/
     
  16. autoflightlogic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2015
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    135
    Not sure about pressing RTH again, but yes on the Flight Mode switch.
     
  17. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    Good to know