autonomous flight possible for marriage proposal?

Reaction score
I'm planning to ask my now girlfriend to marry me in the next couple of months and I would like to film the proposal using a P4. We're both avid hikers so my plan is to pop the question on top of a PNW peak.

I'm new to flying drones (don't own a drone yet) so my question is would it be difficult to program a autonomous flight to capture the moment? I want there to be some movement to the shot vs it just holding one particular frame, but I obviously can't be get down my knee to ask the question while piloting the drone.

Any tips or ideas would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks guys!

Probably would be easier and safer for your 'best man' to pilot the drone - may be possible for the pilot to be at the base of the peak to be discrete, also note most drones dont record sound so you might need a recorder in your vicinity to record the voice

Reactions: BarryP
Master the orbit function to film the proposal (no sound) or get an experienced flyer to capture the moment and you focus on your proposal. I noted that you don't own one yet so you may want to do a few trial flights first to understand what you are dealing with. It would be unfortunate to be about to propose and your drone starts doing something funky, like not moving due to sensor picking up an obstruction in the orbit radius, low battery, poor signal etc.

Last edited:
Master the orbit function to film the proposal (no sound) or get an experienced flyer to capture the moment and you focus on your proposal. I noted that you don't own one yet so you may want to do a few trial flights first to understand what you are dealing with. I would be unfortunate to be about to propose and your drone starts doing something funky, like not moving due to sensor picking up an obstruction in the orbit radius, low battery, poor signal etc.