Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Auto takeoff

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by sevy15, Feb 10, 2016.

  1. sevy15

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hi all
    Does anyone know why when using auto takeoff the bird on flys about 1' off the ground I have to quickly raise it more because I feel it's going to hit the deck??
    I know I could just manual take off but stuff like this bugs me especially when it says it should hover at 1.2m


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  2. KyleMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    313
    I could be wrong but I think this has to do with how quickly you take off once the bird is ready to fly.

    The home point and altitude are set as soon as the IMU is warmed up and Gps is locked (home point is location and altitude) .. But once everything has warned up for another minute or 2 and your Gps lock gets better, say 10 satellites at warmup to 15 after 3 mins, the ac precision gets better.

    So my guess is that if you waited 5 mins and then set the home point manually it may actually take off a little higher due to the aircraft being able to better tell exactly where it is and its altitude.

    If that makes any sense.
    Also have you tried to take off with and without the VPS system on ?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  3. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Check your app height when it's hovering. The bird's barometer tends to drift as the bird warms up. It's very difficult for the Phantom to know exactly how high it is, that's why you're there!

    Auto land and take-off are features designed to generate repairs and sales of new Phantoms. ;)
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  4. sevy15

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yea makes sense will try giving it a bit longer before taking off and settings home point just before taking off


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  5. eBird

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    147
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    My question is, why do auto takeoff? Nothing could be easier than manually lifting off the ground.
     
    rene van der meer and Simmsy like this.
  6. Phantom751874

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2015
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    269
    I wouldn't use auto-takeoff or land, ever. One more thing that could go klabooey....
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  7. adfischer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Does it matter if VPS is on or off?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    sado_81 likes this.
  8. KyleMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    313
    Yeah I would say it matters! That's VPS job essentially (to hold position / altitude at low level flight) so I would say it will def matter. I fly with mine off cause it's just one more thing to go awry (unless I'm flying indoors without Gps)


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,067
    Likes Received:
    405
    I think auto take off was included to help give it the 'everyone can fly it' moniker. I have never once used it. To the OP, don't use it. Take off and land in full control, always.
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  10. kphantom

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2015
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    80
    I agree, just give it some up stick near full throttle and then back off when it gets up several feet and seems stable !
     
    #10 kphantom, Feb 10, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2016
    eBird and rene van der meer like this.
  11. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,614
    Likes Received:
    745
    Location:
    Australia
    Its a phajtom feature, ive not heard of one proceeding to the specified height ever and never to the same height twice.

    I have never used it though.
     
  12. BeachDuc

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    I'm new to all this but Auto takeoff seemed a bit daft to me. Get your drone ready and push up gently on the left stick, it's not exactly hard. I do use the RTH though, but will generally take over as it nears the ground.
     
  13. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    I agree. I like to be in control right from lift off. If something should happens. yo can react much faster. So I never use auto take off.
    Besides that the feature should work 100%. I don't know whether there is an official minimum height, but mine take off to just above 1 m.
    If it doesn't and it is in P-mode (green GPS) I would think there is something with the VPS system or the sensors (barometer, US)
     
    kphantom likes this.
  14. Nejkoy

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    4
    I always take off manual. But I tried auto-takeoff and it goes to 1m or 1,2m like it should but then descends to about 0.5 meter or less.
     
  15. MADrone

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2015
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    USA
    I have used auto takeoff almost exclusively, and it has worked perfectly every time. It allows me to focus on camera settings and verify home point, sensors, etc, while monitoring the birds control characteristics. I for one enjoy the ease of lift off and hover.