Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Advanced Auto takeoff issue

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by joseph296, Jul 25, 2015.

  1. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Once I arm my motors my controller immediately says auto take off and you can hear the motors rev but it stays on the ground. Then I only have an auto land icon as if I am in the air all ready. Any ideas? I used the auto take off maybe 5 times and it worked perfect now all of a sudden this is how it's reacting.
     
  2. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    If by arming your motors you mean pulling your sticks down and inward then the aircraft is doing what it is supposed to do. It should rev the motors twice and sit idling waiting for you to throttle up.
    If you are using the auto take off command on the tablet then you need to do that first before arming the motors. The air craft will then rev twice and take off to the specified height.
     
  3. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Once I arm the motors after the initial 2 revs the controller says auto take off the drone tilts a little as if it were about to take off but just remains on the ground. Then the auto take off icon goes away as if it were in the air and the auto land icon appears but I am still on the ground
     
  4. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Try not arming the motors with the controller and only use the tablet auto take off. Once you arm them with the controllers it assumes you are going to do the rest of the take off manually. That's why it only gives you the option for auto landing.
    Just for clarity the controller is the RC controller that came with the aircraft. The tablet is your iOS or Android device.
     
  5. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I don't want to use the auto take off I just want to take off manually but I feel like it's trying to auto take off on its own
     
  6. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'll try to take a video of what it's doing when I get home to better explain
     
  7. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    The initial double rev and voice notification is normal. It should just sit and wait after the double rev which has been suspected of being designed to tighten the props.
     
  8. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Good the video will help
     
  9. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    i cannot get this video to load its killing me lol
     
  10. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    this may work
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Yup that is the problem. Perform an auto takeoff only from your tablet or phone. So find the auto takeoff icon in the pilot app and tap it. It will then confirm with a swipe (at least on the iOS version) before it does the double thrust engine rev and takes off to I believe a 4 foot standard height. Once you start the engines with the RC controller like you did in the video the aircraft assumes a manual takeoff and only gives the auto landing option.
     
  12. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Look for the up arrow ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1438122606.874911.jpg
     
  13. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    oooo ok so if i want to auto take off just press auto take off do not arm the engines first..
    Thanks a lot man i guess the first few times i tried it thats the way i did it.
     
  14. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Then in the iOS you will get the following ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots1438122654.417765.jpg
     
  15. joseph296

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    i thought you always had to arm the engines before you did anything
     
  16. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Nope. Give it a whirl and tell me what you think. I hope that helps.
     
    joseph296 likes this.
  17. Albert R.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    19
    Remember to do it with the props on as I would assume the aircraft would look to adjust its height to 4 feet after takeoff. Doing it without the props may be problematic and may lead over revving engines as it struggles to achieve the programmed height.
     
    #17 Albert R., Jul 28, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2015