Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    60
    Let's launch the craft from the top of a moutain per example. He will reset to zero altitude from this point. Pilot flying down and craft getting negative altitude readings, why not.

    Then pilot hit auto-landing icon and P4 starts going down and all ok so far.

    How craft will know it's time to reduce descending speed when approaching to the ground, barometric reading being negative? Presumably VPS but will suffice to land smoothly?

    Any feedback welcome.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  2. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Very good question! I had never thought about that. Have you tried this scenario?

    I don't have a P4, but I will assume that VPS will let it land normally. Motors will shut down when vertical descent stops. (when on the ground). Also, I think the normal descending speed is the same as the landing speed and is slow enough to hit the ground and land without damage.

    I would also like to hear the opinion of others.
     
  3. ryantrax

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    795
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Xenia, Ohio
    I have run into this, it worked fine for me on my Inspire 1, I assume the VPS is what slowed it.
     
  4. L3thalB3ard

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    43
    I literally just got home from doing this, flew from the top of a rock formation, landed on the ground below me without any issue..


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Did you do an "auto land" as the OP's question was about?
     
  6. L3thalB3ard

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    43
    Yes I did.. I couldn't really judge height from where I was. I tilted the camera down to make sure I was clear and selected auto land


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    RémyHeli and Great_Lakes like this.
  7. Great_Lakes

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2016
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    South Eastern Michigan
    Cool! Then we know it will work!
     
  8. Techcop50

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2015
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    100
    Location:
    Aiken, SC, USA
    I know my Standard will bounce just before it contacts the ground, and it has no VPS. I assumed it was a result of a barometric pressure spike from prop force contacting a surface.
    It does this even if you land at a different elevation.
     
    sinxa likes this.
  9. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    60
    Thanks for feedback guys, this is maybe why there is no option in Go app to disable VPS.. But if someone disable VPS in Litchi then not sure how craft can auto-land (I'm not using Litchi yet) ??


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  10. r62ewa

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2016
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    145
    I believe the option is now available in the latest version of DJI Go to disable VPS.
     
  11. RémyHeli

    Joined:
    May 23, 2016
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    60
    Uh i'll have a look. Then maybe it's the sonar!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
     
  12. sinxa

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2016
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    38
    you guys saying as everone has vps and sonar. . . . :lol

    i am with techcop50. . . .