Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Auto 'dronie'?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by chessman, Mar 25, 2016.

  1. chessman

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'm trying to learn filming techniques ahead of a carribean vacation.
    If I get practice now I won't have to be making silly time consuming mistakes later.
    Regarding taking these 'dronie' clips (I wish they had come up with a nicer word, lol). Simply seems a case of centering ourselves close up and slowly flying backwards whilst elevating and keeping myself and girlfriend centred....
    Can you think of a way to automate this process with a P3A so that I don't have to have the controller on my lap in every shot? It kinda spoils the effect. Have been watching a few on YouTube and holding the controller is pretty much the standard procedure.
    It's likely this can be achieved using the DJI GO waypoint feature but that means me flying it first every time. Just really need nice steady automated process.
     
  2. Tdeath

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try litchi mission planner, it has many different options like: advanced way points ( where u can even automate the angle of the cam individually for each way point)

    Just start the mission from the rc and hide it. It will get you awesome shots if you preset it right without any piloting from you

    However i advise u to read about it so you know what ur doin
     
  3. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,858
    Likes Received:
    663
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Put a cloth or something similar coloured to your top on the remote controller so it won't be so obvious in the shot. Once the phantom is a few feet away it won't be so obvious. But if it's white (as it is now) it sticks out in video like a sore thumb. Just make sure the antennae are free from obstruction!

    But I'd be using litchi cos I have it.
     
  4. chessman

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have Litchi...
    I can see how this could work using two way points.
    One problem I see:
    Assuming I will have very limited Internet on what will be a bunch of islands, how can I cache maps?
    I an aware of the map caching facility in google maps, and could easily cache 8 islands, but will this mean the maps are readily accessible in Litchi and DJI Go? And if not how can I cache the areas in litchi prior to arriving?
     
  5. PrecisionAeroworks

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    106
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    This is from the "cookbook" on Litchi's help site:
     
  6. Simmsy

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    What carribean island are you visiting as Barbados has stopped drones entering the country for a year.
     
  7. Air Ontario

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    493
    Location:
    U.S./ Canada
    Litchi is the way to go if you have/can get cached maps.

    I have flown 500m away at 10-15 ft and had Litchi focus on a duck blind and then back up and ascend quickly. Nice effect.

    Woulda been real nice shot with a wedding bride in the duck blind. lol

    You could have a few close, but extra WPs before the real money shot just to give yourself last minute time for slight adjustments to subjects and then as it gets close to placing you in frame, set the controller out of sight behind you. Or give it to a friend off camera as a safety shutdown operator.
     
  8. redonk

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    NY
    Would like to know also since I'm heading to Curacao this summer and debating if I should take my P3 or not.
     
  9. chessman

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    25
    Hmmm
    Arrival March 2017
    We fly to Barbados but board a ship once there. If Barbados is a problem I can abstain from using it there but it will be a shame.
    Why the one year ban??

    UPDATE
    found this:
    Drone operators beware!
     
    #9 chessman, Mar 25, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2016
  10. Simmsy

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
  11. chessman

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    25
    Well I will be carrying the Phantom backpack as hand luggage. Am I to assume that this is regarded as 'importation'?
    I can't see a problem with entering Barbados with it at x-ray so long as I don't fly it over Bridgetown lol. I won't risk using it in Barbados if it's a no-no, it will be a pity though.
    Customs will be aware that I'm boarding a cruise.
    I will email the Barbadian authorities with a straight question and update here if I get a response.
     
  12. Simmsy

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    15
    Yeah let me know as it would be interesting to see what is said from the source.