Atti mode...

Reaction score
I am a nervous newbie with under 30 flights with the Advanced 3 - and so far so good. Not wanting to venture out too far but am getting some good altitude. For the firs time today the drone went into anti mode whilst in P mode with 18+ satellites. I moved it quickly and it went back into GPS mode - anyone have any feedback on this. Greatly appreciated.

did it give you a compass error when it went into atti mode?

Did you calibrate it at this location before take off?

Last edited:
Where was it calibrated.. did you have any metal near by sounds like it was a bad calibration and something effected it.

Make sure you are in an open area mostly grass and nothing that may cause issues during calibration or try avoid calibrating so often.

There have been reports about P3 switching on its own to ATTI mode and back. The result was near flyaway / crash. You are lucky that you were alert and could get it back to GPS mode back quickly.

I have not read the solution to such problems anywhere. This could be due to DJI Go App glitch or HW problem of RC. You got to be careful now onwards.

1. Get your logs analyzed to check if you find anything.
2. Reinstall DJI Go App.
3. Contact DJI support.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

The green lights after calibration were the same as always. A new location - a cliff behind be and on a grass open patch with metal railing in front of me. I thought it was always best to calibrate before every flight. This is the first time it has happened - it quickly went back into GPS mode with 18+ salelities - maybe it was due to the cliff or metal railings I can only assume. I was hoping to get out some distance to get an aerial view of a castle - but only got out 40m ! Hence, I am nervous about going out too far.

There have been reports about P3 switching on its own to ATTI mode and back. The result was near flyaway / crash. You are lucky that you were alert and could get it back to GPS mode back quickly.