ATTI - First flight help

Reaction score
Hi guys - This is my first post on this site as I am new to PhantomPilots.com. I have a P3A, and have been flying for a few months. Every single flight I've had has been in P-GPS mode thus far, and I've heard that ATTI mode should allow me to go a little faster. I'm wanting to make my first ATTI flight, but have a few questions before I make the jump. Please see below:

(1) Is it true that the only difference between ATTI and P-GPS is that ATTI won't lock in a point? In other words, when you take your fingers off the sticks, P-GPS will keep the P3 in that position... but my understanding is that ATTI does not do this, in that if there is a breeze of wind or something then the P3 can be pushed away. Is this correct? Is this the only difference?

(2) I want to be 1000% sure that my RTH/Failsafe still work. If I have a loss of video and/or RC signal, will my RTH/Failsafe still kick in as usual as it would have in P-GPS mode? If not, I certainly don't want to use ATTI mode as this is the single most important and deciding factor for me.

(3) What is the proper method of engaging ATTI mode? Do I have to do anything in the DJI GO app? Do I just set it using the switches on the transmitter? Something else that I'm missing?

(4) If I start flying P-GPS, can I switch to ATTI mid-flight? What about vice-versa?

(5) Assuming zero wind... what is usually the speed difference on a stock P3 when flying ATTI vs flying P-GPS?

(6) Is there anything else that I should know about ATTI mode?

Thank you all in advance. I look forward to being an active and contributing member to this site.

Cheers,
Ehsan

1) That's the only real documented difference. But, your Phantom will fly a bit faster in ATTI too, so there must be some other subtle differences.
2) Yes.
3) Switch the "PAF" switch to "A" on your remote controller.
4) Yes.
5) This is not documented and it would be tough to measure since there is rarely zero wind.