Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Assistant Software

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by PeakXV, Sep 23, 2014.

  1. PeakXV

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Hi Guys,

    Newbie here. I just downloaded the assistant software for the Phantom 2 Vision Plus ver 3.2.

    But unlike the user manual screen capture which shows 'Phantom 2 Vision +', the loaded software heading states 'Phantom 2' only - which is a bit confusing for starters.
    Is this the right software? I can't seem to get it to see the Phantom when connected via USB. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Delgado

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Are you using Windows? If so there's a separate driver to pick up the Phantom that you'll need to install too.
     
  3. TeeJayN

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    8
    Assuming you are using Windows, you need to install the "DJI WIN Driver Installer" first.
     
  4. itchybeard

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Hi PeakXV

    Here is the icon for the software I am using. Verson 3.2 is correct



    To get the software to load properly with all the options available you need to turn on your Phantom and your RC controller (props off for safety, of course).

    Also as TeeJayN says, if you are using Windows then you need to install the "DJI WIN Driver".

    This is a picture of one of the screens inside



    Note that is says "Phantom 2 Vision+" at the top of the window, so it's the right software and I have had no trouble with it so far.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. PeakXV

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Yes. Missed that step. Okay, I went to install it and MacAfee is saying that the driver download contains viruses and/or spyware. First time I've seen that warning
    since acquiring MacAfee software. Is that normal, is it safe?
     
  6. DrD

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not much choice if you want to get your phantom properly configured. I just used the driver about a month ago, and all was well.

    (I use Norton, and it passed without issue).
     
  7. PeakXV

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Okay, to be safe and since I don't know what they mean by 'viruses, spyware and 'other potentially unwanted programs'' .... guess I'd better wait & download it on a computer that I don't do all my banking and financial business with. Thanks for you help folks, I'll surely have more questions based on my progress to date ....
     
  8. itchybeard

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    Yes, very sensible, Peak

    It's got to be a false positive though. I am running Comodo Antivirus and Firewall and all my virus signatures are kept up to date. Comodo has kept my systems squeaky clean for many years, but it didn't even blink when I installed the DJI driver. It has always leapt into action to blocked any malware that has tried to sneak on to my systems before.
     
  9. PeakXV

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada

    Okay, thanks for the feedback, itchybeard - much appreciated. Although my MacAfee just had a big update today and we all know that a file downloaded today may not be as 'squeaky clean' as a file downloaded, say, a month ago. It only takes a precious few seconds for malware et al to wrap it's tentacles around any given downloadable file.
     
  10. Tombsy

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Calgary AB
    Tell MacAfee to clean the file if it thinks it's infected.
    I think it might just be a "may contain" warning that windows pops up for any downloaded files.
     
  11. PeakXV

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    Well, I've never seen this particular MacAfee warning before and I've downloaded a lot of files ... and with financial info and over a million pictures on my main drive .... I decided to use an extra computer to be on the safe side.
     
  12. DrD

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well now that you have it loaded on your extra computer, did you:

    a. Get warned by McAfee on that extra computer that the DJI windriver is infected ?
    b. Install the driver successfully on the extra computer?
    c. Get the Phantom calibrated successfully? (IMU calibration *was* necessary on my new P2V+)

    I also installed the aluminum foil mod, which corrected the satellite count change when the video recorder was turned on/off. My new Phantom needed all this, then, after calibrating the compass, everything seems to be working very well!
     
  13. PeakXV

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2014
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Canada
    1. I don't have virus protection software on the extra computer and the drive is 99% empty with any valuable bits, already backed up.
    2. It loaded and all is working well!
    3. Phantom calibrated and about to command my fourth flight.

    Thanks for all your help, folks - very much appreciated!