Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Assistant 3.6 available today

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by robinb, Oct 31, 2014.

  1. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
  2. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    So... what did they break with 3.4 that they had to quickly fix and shove out the door as 3.6??? THAT is the question... :shock: :shock: :shock:

    -slinger
     
  3. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    I could not get 3.4 to work correctly with my Mac.

    I think there were persistent problems trying to get the battery updates.
     
  4. planedr

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2014
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    GroƟbissendorf Germany
    More like what did they break with 3.6?
     
  5. GustavL

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2014
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Somerset West, South Africa
    What now? Here we go again!

    Do we sit and wait or install?
     
  6. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Yeah... that too... :roll:

    -slinger
     
  7. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Maybe they will disable the 7th channel on original controller so you have to buy the new one.
    They have been saying it is not supposed to work with it.
     
  8. Pacific Barbarian

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Downloaded and installed. I was still on 3.2 :? So not really sure whats different.
     
  9. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    Install.
     
  10. Pacific Barbarian

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    It wont let me check IMU status, nor basic calibration. Only advanced calibration available.
     
  11. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    I guess you need to do an advanced cal then.
     
  12. Pacific Barbarian

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2014
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, thats what it was in the end. Thanks.
     
  13. RJ Evans

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norman, Oklahoma
    Downloaded 3.6 and no changes needed for me. Nothing seems to have changed on the front end. My guess is they found a few things internally that needed cleaning up?
     
  14. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Yup, sit and wait for 3.7, 3.8, 3.9,.......
     
  15. morph000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Orstralia is our norf island !
    What's fixed ? BATTERY !

    Major New Features
    a)Battery cell warning added to the VISION app that alerts users if battery issues are detected. Browse battery cell warning history in the VISION app.
    b)New auto-discharging feature to address to address the swelling problem of fully charged battery when it is stored for an extended period. The auto-discharging function will start automatically if the battery does not operate in 10 days.
    c)Battery cell damages detection feature added.
    d)New battery cell balancing feature to extend battery life.

    Special Notes:
    1.Update DJI Smart Battery firmware to v2.6 through Phantom Assistant v3.6.
    2.The new battery firmware v2.6.0.0 does not support battery with loader of v1.3.0.0 or firmware of v1.6.0.0.

    Battery did NOT update with v3.2 or 3.4 but DOES with 3.6
     
  16. morph000

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Orstralia is our norf island !
    ..and some couldn't, and I was one of 'em..
    Flaky software ???
     
  17. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun

    Also the gimbal pitch control has been activated if you add a lever.
     
  18. jetlag

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina
     
  19. DrD

    DrD

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe there is no battery update visible in Assistant v3.4 (or later) because the Assistant has determined that there IS NO update for the particular battery currently in use???
     
  20. jetlag

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    North Carolina
    No once they latest 3.6 came out it showed the update. I was confused as to what else I might need to do to update the battery beyond the firmware update. All good now