Are you guys (and girls) always shooting in 4k?

Reaction score
Be easy on me, I'm new at this :)

Are you folks generally defaulting to shooting in 4k? Reason I ask is that I've been experimenting in the roughly two weeks I've owned my P3P shooting video and for lack of a better description I'm not overly impressed with the video quality in 4k. It seems to be generally what I consider flickering and nowhere near the sharpness nor stability I'd expect. It's almost as if the interlacing top to bottom of the frame varies. While part of it I know is my general newbieness of the flight controls, I'm seeing distortion in the video even at a hover. Stills are incredible. Is there a general learning curve to getting stable video, i.e.: exposure, etc that I need to master in addition to the controls? If it matters, I see it in the raw footage direct off the SD card, and it's consistent on whatever machine I view it on, be it high end Mac or Windows, all of which should render it just fine. I haven't even put it into edit (test videos, not worthy of a lot of post processing.)

Thanks in advance

It depends on where you want to display the result and how fast you going to fly. I did notice the flickering, hence if I have no specific intention, I would rather record in Full HD 1080p 60fps.

+1 I don't use 4k as I've got no way to replay it back and I can't really fault 1080 even on my 40" tv it's crystal clear and sharp

man I had the exact same problem! After reading every post and trying everything... It pretty much came down to buying a high end Lexmar micro sd card and USB adapter. An up to date video playing program on the laptop and boom problem solved.! Cost $100 Aus for the sd card now I get super crisp 4K footage!

Reactions: ACT Bird
Also, you dont want to pan or yaw your bird too fast when recording in 4K. It has to be slow enough to get the best result.