Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Are tops shells same in p1 and p2?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Hspain16, Sep 22, 2014.

  1. Hspain16

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson,tn
    Hey guys im wanting to convert my p1 into a1.5,and have found a bottom shell on ebay,but do i need to buy a p2 top shell also,or can i use the old one from my phantom 1?
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You can use them interchangeably, the only difference in the lids is a few extra vent holes in each arm on the P2 version. The top lid in this pic is from a P1, bottom is from a P2:

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Hspain16

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson,tn
    Thx man,i may be asking you a few more questions throughout this conversion lol.
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Absolutely, feel free!
     
  5. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Landing gear off the P1 will also work on the P2 shell .
     
  6. Hspain16

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson,tn
    Will the p2 battery still fit if i mount the led module in the front/rear above the usb plug thing?
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I haven't tried that arrangement but it should work, when you get the P2 shell you'll be able to see the edge in the back end of the battery bay where the battery stops.

    The P2 is a little confusing for those coming from the P1....the battery bay now opens to the rear of the Phantom, so if you put the LED in the spot you would described that would actually be the front :)
     
  8. Hspain16

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Jackson,tn
    Very much ,think ive got all my stuff on its way,but im trying to think of something to build/use as battery door.any ideas?
    ,i know d3wey has some on shapeways,but ive already spent way too much ..Seems like thats been very easy since owning a phantom. :lol: