AP news today. Idiots flying near wildfires giving drones a really bad name.

Reaction score
Don't fly near fires, folks.

Attachments

• 1466790779891.jpg
    1466790779891.jpg
    107.3 KB · Views: 542
Concur! As a southern California resident, I shudder to think about those firefighters flying aircraft that low to fight fires. This is one case where no quad flyer can argue that planes fly high enough for vertical separation and deconfliction. Purely stupid, selfish amateurs.

We just had a fire near my home over the last couple of days. Many water dropping copters and fire retardant fixed wing craft doing what they do. I really would have loved to had a great shot from AGL, but I really wanted the pilots to have the sky more. Stay grounded. It's the right thing to do!!!

Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app

It really sucks. I am in Southern California right now flying one of those helicopters dropping water on those fires. Two days ago while flying on the reservoir fire just northeast of L.A. Someone decide to fly their Phantom around the dip site where we get our water. The air attack that flys above us controlling the Temporary flight restriction made us all go back to the Heli base and land until the phantom was gone. This happened 4 times through out the day. It's such a bummer that some people have no brains. I bet if that guys house burned down and his phantom melted because we all had to land, he would be pretty dang bummed on his decision to grab a couple quick aerial shots. I own a few phantoms and an S1000, although these things are a blast to fly, keep them on the ground while we're out flying. That's all.

Reactions: Gulfstream
Who saw the drone, the air attack flying above you? Who reported that the Phantom was gone? Who reported it was a Phantom?

Where's the video from the helicopter?

Where's the video from the drone op?

Where's the photo or video evidence from anyone else at the reservoir?