Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Anyone else getting these warnings??

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by oo7tk, May 31, 2015.

  1. oo7tk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    So I nearly had a fly away at the weekend but thought when I had done the calibration of the RC and IMU and got the app working properly it would be working perfect but no..

    I'm getting these warning now when I try connect and the last time it connected and I flew it I nearly lost it so don't know what to do...

    When I got these warnings I was at least half a mile from anything that could interfere with it also..
     

    Attached Files:

    philhenry likes this.
  2. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,102
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Never seen them warnings, but first thoughts are you appear to be very close to over head power lines which will no doubt be playing a part in them errors.
     
    Options likes this.
  3. dhaslam

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    What is underneath in the first photograph is it a table of some sort?
     
  4. oo7tk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    This is the thing no matter where i bring it im getting this message, i tried it again on my way back to my car and the same thing.. Most worrying this is when it told me it was safe to fly over the weekend i lost all contact and no matter where i put the controls it was flying away from me...
     
  5. oo7tk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    No thats just on my backpck..
     
  6. envisionabove

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    387
    Location:
    Tim in San Diego
    Never Seen them on Mine.

    Goto Airplane mode
    Cars keys
    The Over Head wires
    Fancy Smart Watch
    ??????????
     
    SteveAikens likes this.
  7. Jeff48920

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,017
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Pomona, IL
    Yes, definitely be in airplane mode on the device. I have always done that with the P3P and never had any issues to date.
     
  8. dhaslam

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    9
    When you are calibrating the compass any significant iron object will interfere with the compass setting. It can be something small close by or a larger item farther away will make a difference. However in this case it may be a fault, presumably the GPS and compass readings are significantly different. It is hard to understand why a compass is needed outdoors when GPS can tell that it is inaccurate.
     
  9. oo7tk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2015
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3

    Only thing it could have been was my car keys cause i have tried this in 3 different places but took the screen shot from probly the worst place.. I did the IMU calibration at home so i might try it again out in the open and see what happens.. Still as i said even if it tells me im good to fly im still not confident anymore..
     
  10. Furia

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    SPAIN
    I think you may have found the problem solution yourself.
    Never align the IMU indoors. A house is full of powered electrical wires and electrodomestics plus a lot of iron and steel on the structure. Surely not the best place to calibrate the IMU.
    Try the calibration outside, away from anything that could interfere the calibration and let us know
     
    oo7tk likes this.
  11. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    The GPS tells the Phantom where it is, and if it's moving, it can therefore tell which direction it is going. But if it is not moving, a GPS cannot tell the Phantom which direction it is facing, so it needs a compass to know that information.

    Chris
     
    Options, dhaslam and Fplvert like this.
  12. DrChris

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    76
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    This is true for compass calibration but not for IMU calibration. You need a perfectly level surface that doesn't move at all for IMU calibration. This surface does not have to be free of metal.

    For compass calibration, all that has been said about metal, etc is very much true,

    Chris
     
  13. Fplvert

    Joined:
    May 28, 2014
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    708
    Location:
    Southern Idaho USA
    Actually, IMU and gimbal cals need to be done on a level surface that is vibration free, inside is fine.

    The OP is having a problem calibrating the compass. It needs to be done away from ferris metal, outside is best.

    When you start your compass calibration, hold the bird level at arms length away from you. Then turn around in a clock like manner. Go around 360 and continue about another 60-90 degrees until lights blink green. Turn the bird on its nose and continue the clock like turn like before. The screen will confirm if you did it right. It's called Compass Dance.
     
  14. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Anything metallic in your backpack?
    Try using an empty cardboard box.
     
  15. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    IMU calibration has nothing to do with metal objects, the main thing is it should be leve and not jiggled during the calibration - which is often easier inside.
    I'd still not do it on a metal surface though, in fact the phantom will show a similar warning message when near any metal object and it takes a while to get over the 'disturbance'.
     
  16. Furia

    Joined:
    May 24, 2015
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    SPAIN
    Yes I meant calibrating the compass not the IMU. I wrote this on my Ipad while on the move and I have no clue why I wrote IMU.
    However I guess it is obvious from my post that I was meaning the compass calibration.
    Sorry for the confusion.
     
  17. vhc

    vhc

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I actually had an out of the box P3P that would also keep giving this error, no matter how I tried to calibrate it. Never even got to fly it.
    Ended up returning it, new one calibrates fine even indoors.
    Could be a compass issue.
     
  18. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    The usual cause of these kinds of problems is that the compass has been exposed to a magnetic force strong enough to "magnetize" the compass beyond the capability of the compass calibration to correct.

    Setting the Phantom down with the right rear leg right next to an electric motor (ie. drill) or refrigerator magnet can cause this. Bottom of that leg is where the compass is located.

    People with earlier Phantoms may remember Colin Guinn's video showing how to wave a magnet around the compass while comparing compass variable readouts on the Phantom Assistant to demagnetize the compass. There is no comparable procedure available for the P3.

    All you can do is be careful to avoid magnetic sources where you set Phantom down.
     
  19. clkilljoy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2015
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    36
    On Phantom 2 the compass would need to be demagnetized with a magnet to clear it. This would happen when you got a magnetized screwdriver to close to the compass. Sorry don't remember the procedure. But this could be same problem as what was happening with the P2's.
     
  20. Apparition

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    324
    Location:
    USA
    I believe I had the same or very similar warnings when trying to launch my phantom from the tonneau cover of my truck. I moved it about 6 feet away from my truck and had zero problems. Haven't seen it since.