Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

anyone else get the calibrate ball

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Pumpfixer, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. Pumpfixer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Naugatuck CT
    Everytime I turn off the remote this comes up.... Why? image.jpg
     
  2. fhagan02

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    329
    Same here. Every time. Don't know why. I just act like I'm panning for gold for a second then go about my business. It's like a ritual now.
     
  3. Pumpfixer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Naugatuck CT
    Its to calibrate the level app I think... No idea why its there lol guess I will just pan away :)
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  4. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
    @Pumpfixer I've flown easy over 15 to 20 flights and have never gotten that screen...
     
    Brett_Meyer likes this.
  5. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    It's very irritating....does it in both iPad and iPhone so seems to be app related. I don't recall getting it on the previous version 1.1.1, but didn't use it much prior to upgrading to current version
     
    Pumpfixer likes this.
  6. Pumpfixer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Naugatuck CT
    Do you use ios or droid?
     
  7. Hjones62

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    80
    Location:
    Miami, FL
  8. Pumpfixer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Naugatuck CT
    Is compass calibration on? I just turned off amd will try tomorrow
    image.jpg
     
  9. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    It's the iOS wanting to calibrate your iPad or whatever you're using.
     
  10. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    My Ipad 3 also--
     
    Bill7259 likes this.
  11. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I've seen that before on my iPhone 4S. Its compass related.
     
  12. MikeON

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pennsylvania, USA
    I get that about half the time I fly the P3A. It is the iPhone compass wanting calibration. If I start the compass app the same thing happens sometimes. Might be worth trying to calibrate it through the compass app first before starting Pilot to see if that fixes it.
     
    Pumpfixer likes this.
  13. jlo

    jlo

    Joined:
    May 17, 2015
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    213
    Location:
    FL
    iPad Air here, I got that once the first time I launched the pilot app.
     
  14. Dadcat

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Portland Area, Oregon
    That's the calibration screen for the compass app in iOS devices. Happens almost every time I open compass on my iPhone 5 & 6. Never seen it on the iPad mini 2 cellular I fly with. It doesn't have the compass app on it.

    The Mini does have a compass though since it knows what direction it's pointed in the Apple & Google map apps. It's pretty accurate but I don't know how since I've never calibrated it. I don't remember if the Pilot app uses the iPad compass to show what direction your facing. I haven't really paid attention to that.
     
  15. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    I got that circular calibration on my new iPad Air 2, once, and only once.

    Seems like it's simple enough, to do this calibration, if only. for a minute of your time.

    Dr.Chas-THC
     
  16. zincsoldier

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    31
    I got this sometimes for the app on my iPad as well. In my opinion, this is to calibrate the correct direction so if the homepoint is set and you are already flying it, the map orientation is still correct when you move around.
     
  17. Bill7259

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    4

    I get it about 75% of the time.
     
  18. domdoha

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2014
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Qatar
    same here
     
    Bill7259 likes this.
  19. Coldfire

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2015
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    90
    I have 50 flights on android and haven't seen it once.
     
  20. TonG

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2014
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Same ball on I-pad2 mini ret.