anyone do weddings?

Reaction score
I'm going to shoot an outdoor wedding next month (just amateur stuff for a family member) and thought about getting a DJI Phantom II and a Go Pro for aerial footage. I have no experience but would have a month to practice. Probably not a good idea.

So my next thought was to hire someone who could do it for me. Is there anyone in Middle Tennessee who does this? The laws seem to be muddy and changing, so you'll have to know the laws concerning commercial drone photography.

Welcome to the forum proliance.

I did a wedding once. Didn't turn out so well.
Now I'm divorced. :lol:

See msinger's reply for better info on the subject. ;)

So I could do the aerial video myself since I wouldn't be getting paid? What if I paid an amateur to give me lessons on how to shoot a wedding? At a wedding.

proliance said:
So I could do the aerial video myself since I wouldn't be getting paid?
Right. As long as you're not charging anything for your services and/or no money is being made from the videos/photos, then you're flying for fun as far as the FAA is concerned.

proliance said:
What if I paid an amateur to give me lessons on how to shoot a wedding?
The other guy might want to check with the FAA if he's offering training services that involve flying. That certainly won't be your problem though.

sergekouper, good point. In general, it's not a good idea to fly closer than 500 feet to people. Or, so says the FAA anyhow.

A couple of points to keep in mind.
Phantoms are noisy - they sound like a million angry bees if they are within 50 feet.
They have extreme wideangle lenses so you can only get recognisable photos of people if you come in fairly close.
Because of these two features, you probably won't be using them during the service except to get some distant establishing shots showing the setting. If you bring it down close enough for detail, it's going to be too distracting and intrusive.