Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Anyone consider a dual FPV system?

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by backcountrymedic, Aug 31, 2014.

  1. backcountrymedic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    Here's my setup...

    On the aircraft...
    Phantom 2, iOSD mini
    GoPro H3+ Black
    Immersion RC 600mw TX w/ Spironet antenna

    On the ground end...
    Black Pearl 7" with a Spironet and a Fatshark Patch antenna
    Fatshark Predator V2 goggles with a Spironet

    I like to use both, depending on my use case. Sometimes I'll fly with the monitor, and let a friend wear the goggles (because it's cool). Sometimes I'll use the goggles myself and share the monitor. Sometimes I'll just use one or the other.

    Here's my question... with the Predator V2 kit, I got a VTX and a camera. Has anyone ever installed both VTXs and cameras on an aircraft and switched between the two? One would provide the FPV experience without gimbal stabilization, and the other would provide the stabilized feed. Seems pretty useful to me.

    Any thoughts?

    Cheers,
    Jared
     
  2. cmturn0

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    no need for 2 transmitters, just a video switch & 2 camera's. If you want to get real slick, tee the camera video out before the iosd and connect that to the 3rd input on the video switch. You can then select between Cam1 w/o OSD, Cam1 w/OSD, & Cam2 by flipping a 3 position switch.

    You'd want something like this.
    http://www.getfpv.com/3-ch-rc-video-swi ... MgodUyQAhA
     
  3. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    I have that switch cmturn0 linked. It works great, I have it set up to send a signal from my go pro and Fat shark 600 tvl
     
  4. backcountrymedic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'd love to see a picture of that setup! Any chance you can share?
     
  5. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Mine is on a 450 so it probably will not help you.
     
  6. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Here you go.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  7. backcountrymedic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    That's awesome! And what about on the transmitter end?
     
  8. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Here you go. Got Switches :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  9. backcountrymedic

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, so I'm a Phantom 2 guy, running with the stock transmitter. I think to take advantage of the switch, I'd prob'ly need to swap over to a Futaba, eh?
     
  10. SanCap

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    South West Florida
    Mine is a Hitec Aurora 9. I know nothing about the Futabas. Other switches and channels are used for IOC, Failsafe, turning on the strobe lights, switching cameras, dropping tomatoes etc, etc.