Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Anybody try the waypoint features on Autopilot 3.0

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by jbadallas, Jan 4, 2016.

  1. jbadallas

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    12
    I saw someone posted that Autopilot 3.0 was released. Has anyone tried the waypoint features? They look awesome. How does it compare to Airnest? Airnest looks like a real simple app to use. I'm surprised DJI doesn't step up to the plate with similar features in their app.
     
  2. flybid

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2015
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    18
    Yes. I have had the Beta version for a couple weeks. Used the Waypoint feature a lot. It's pretty amazing. I dont know Airnest so I can't compare it. I ran into a few problems but for the most part worked just as advertised. I love how you can completely plan out your camera angles, altitude, speed, etc. I did an intricate course a couple days ago and it worked like a charm.
     
  3. Radar335

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    It will be nice to explore how it is compared to Litchi. Litchi is nice, but have some limitations, especially when it comes to camera angle (gimbal) transitions.

    What I really like with Litchi though, is the ability to plan the flights on a computer via their new online mission hub.

    Autopilot is already a killer app, but the day they come up with a similar solution, they'll be unbeatable.
     
  4. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    Check out this comparison here. I've recently updated the review. iOS Waypoint App Comparison: Litchi 1.0 vs Autopilot 3.0 | DJI Phantom Forum

    Also note- AP has ability to plan waypoints offline on a computer and import the KML/KMZ file.
     
  5. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    Have you found autopilot is faithful to the plan on location accuracy and altitude?

    In other words, how much "buffer space" should I add?

    If a tree is 80 feet and I program 100 is autopilot going to stay faithful to that?

    I know I need to give any ascending altitude time to be reached. I'm just wondering how accurate your finding the actual mission to what you programmed?
     
  6. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    It's hard to give you a number as there are several factors involved. I've found it to be pretty accurate and most important repeatable in relation to the takeoff altitude. The disclaimer states to allow for inaccuracies in the phantom GPS and/or barometer ( +/- 16ft ).

    If you are trying to get real close, you are best to manually fly to a location from a repeatable takeoff point. Check the altitude and use that a guide. You should be good assuming your flight points are on same horizontal plane. However, If your flights change altitude between points make sure to add some buffer and adjust the altitude priority setting per the application. The amount depends on the distance between points. The P3 varies greatly in its ability to raise/lower while traveling horizontally especially with wind. Net - I don't have a magic number, so use more than you think you need. Also, make sure not to 'engage' the system at a high point when it needs to fly to a lower point and there is an obstruction in the shortest path to that start point. This seems obvious, but can bite you with waypoints if you are not considering it.
     
    jimerb likes this.
  7. Tom Whitnah

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't taken AP3 outside yet but is it free easy to record waypoints by flying the drone into position (like DJI Go)? Otherwise gauging the correct altitude would be cumbersome.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  8. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    Great feedback 2nd2non.

    Tom, The strength of autopilot is that you can Map out your mission ahead of time but you can create waypoints based on current position.

    I'm planning on establishing a mission with extra altitude built in ahead of time and then lowering it after I fly it once and can observe distances to obstructions below.

    At least that way the locations and focus points are established and I can just fine tune for trip 2.
     
  9. Radar335

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    First of all, thanks for the useful review.

    Maybe I'm a little slow, but how is the offline planning done? I've read trough the flight school, and so far I understand that this can be done with a specia planning screen in the app. But can it be done on a computer or online?
     
  10. jimerb

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    37
    It's pretty easy in the app. Watch the 2nd waypoint video in the tutorials. It goes over it in great detail. I don't think there is a computer version short of the kmz files with google earth.