Any way to get video of the sky above?

Reaction score
Website
fishcrow.com
Is there any way to rig a P3 to get video footage of the sky above? I will be on a ship in the Arctic next month. We will have two P3's. I was thinking that it would be awesome to use the drone to get footage of the northern lights. One of the problems on a ship is the motion. I was thinking that the drone would provide a nice and stable view, and it would help that you can adjust the brightness. Would the gimbal still function if I am holding the drone upside down? If so, I might try that approach. I have been on a ship in the Arctic before. Up at those latitudes, the northern lights are stunning. There are amazing green bands of light that stretch from horizon to horizon and pass directly overhead. I am not a camera expert. Can anyone verify whether the P3 would be capable of capturing the northern lights and what would be appropriate video settings?

I wouldn't expect to get the colors that you're looking for from any Phantom... There are lots of great video cameras out there or - Sony α6000 E-mount camera with APS-C Sensor does both really well for a lower price then a DSLR..

I think you need a good quality camera for it.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Thanks so much for the inputs! Since I will be on a ship, it won't be possible to take long exposures. I was hoping the P3 camera might do a decent job with the right setting. Oh well, I will just have to take the pix with my eyes!

But if you do decide to try, you can go into the go app and chance the setting so that the gimbal can point upward to 30 degrees above the horizon.

You would probably need 15 sec at ISO 1600 (with f2.8 aperture) to produce a nice image. Very difficult, If not impossible, to achieve with the phantom.