Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Any Tablet advise for a newbie with a P3A?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Hecto, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. Hecto

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    What tablet do I need?
     
  2. Hecto

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im looking at an Ipad air 2 with just Wi Fi....will that work?
     
  3. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yes, you will need to preload and cache maps if you want to use them
     
  4. FotoGeek

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    52
    Nvidia Shield K1 runs about $200, has built-in GPS. It's a great tablet to use with DJI Go and Litchi.
     
    Dirty Bird, Tommymonkey and flyNfrank like this.
  5. Dennis D

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, iPad mini2 will work. However, iPad mini2 wifi is not integrated with GPS module, that means you are not able to use 'go to home' because there are no gps information for the home location, which may cause losing your drone. And your screen will not display flying route as well.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Doesn't the home point for flight originally come from the UAS's GPS? The phone GPS is used to change home point in flight, right?
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,865
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    You can find a list of recommended tablets here.
     
  8. mysterious

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    2
    i'll vouch for the ipad air 2 as ive just bought one for my new phantom.

    no lag at all to report and i just got the 16gb wifi as i wont be using it for much else. It doesnt need the extended tablet holder if you arent planning on putting it in a case but i'd recommend getting it just for added protection.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,865
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    Yes.

    Only if you're setting the home point to your location. You can also reset the home point to the Phantom's location -- which would use the Phantom's GPS.
     
  10. m0j0

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    529
    I purchased the iPad Air 2 with cellular (not activated). Fantastic experience over my iPhone 5. No lag and perfect size I think. I'm sure there are other options that are less expensive but I have no gripes with this purchase.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    Wow that is just so incorrect. RTH works exceptionally well and it works with or without a GPS enabled mobile device.
     
    JoBe and Sagebrush like this.
  12. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
  13. FotoGeek

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    52

    Without GPS, RTH only works if you set the home point to the current position of the Phantom (because the Phantom has GPS and it will use that). If you move from the location that you launched from, you will not be able to set a new home point based on your new location. Also, you will not be able to use some of the other GPS required features, such as Follow me.
     
  14. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    That's correct. If you want more high level info on the features, you can check here:
    Tablets and phones that work well with DJI GO | Page 21 | DJI Phantom Forum
     
  15. Hecto

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks everyone for your input! I just ordered an Ipad air 2 and I expect it will be fine. Thanks again
     
  16. Newly

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    BC
    How do you download and cache maps or google earth sat images saving the air time on Iphone 5s
     
  17. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,865
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    On Apple devices, you can only cache the maps within the DJI GO app.
     
  18. Newly

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    BC
    i am having trouble understanding how to actually cache the map for later and thenbringing it up when I get to the flying location
     
  19. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,523
    Likes Received:
    1,476
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    While connected to the Internet, open the DJI GO app and go to the location on the map where you'll be flying. Zoom in as much as you can and then scroll around where you plan to fly and also the area surrounding in case of surprises. That will store the maps so they are available when you're offline. Note that they will eventually expire after a few weeks and you will need to cache again. Also, there is a setting to enable or disable caching maps, so be sure that is enabled first.
     
    JoBe and FotoGeek like this.
  20. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,865
    Likes Received:
    5,558
    Location:
    US
    To cache maps, connect your mobile device to the Internet, open the DJI GO app, scroll to the location on the map where you want to fly, zoom down to the appropriate level on the map, and then scroll all around the flying location so the map image loads. At that point, the map images should be stored locally and still be available when you disconnect from the Internet and restart the DJI GO app.