Another dumb newb question - re downloads

Reaction score
Yep, complete newb here so be kind....but did anyone else find the DJI download obstructions.....sorry.....instructions a little confusing or obscure when you first discovered the wonderful world of the DJI Phantom?

(I've tried the search engine and a bit of patient scanning but haven't found anyone else ask this question, so if it has already been discussed just point me to it....)

After spending a few weeks flying my Phantom (just the basic Phantom) straight out of the box quite successfully and with good control and everything working well, I finally downloaded the Assistant software and driver installer last week.

Being a Mac' owner I'd not been able to do so previously, but I bought a cheap ($10.00) older PC from a computer geek mate, slow and clunky and running XP, but still functional.

The downloads seemed to go OK, (with the phantom plugged in to the PC and the remote turned on)) other than one issue (which I'll get to below - and hence my question), but since downloading the software I no longer have the level of control that I had before, the Phantom seems to wander and won't hold station on GPS and the controls are not as "controlling"....ie I simply can't get anywhere near the accuracy of control that I had before.

It doesn't drift off in a breeze as if the GPS isn't working at all, but it behaves a bit like it's drunk, sort of knows what it should be doing but can't quite do it with any real coordination.

So the one issue that I had with the download (and this may be glaringly obvious to some...but it's a new phrase to me), in the download instructions was the requirement to "Power cycle your device".

Seemed a bit obscure to me.

I realised that it perhaps meant turn something off then on again (and Googled the phrase just to confirm that before stuffing things up)....but what to turn off and on??