Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Android App New Vers.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by R4boat, Feb 8, 2015.

  1. R4boat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    I just updated the latest Android App on my Galaxy Tab and every time I land my PhV2 I get a pop up that says MC - Compass Calibration Required. I put it on the Assistant Software and recalibrated everything and it is still giving me the same error? Anyone have clue what may be causing this? This just started more or less out of the blue. Thanks.
     
  2. crash1sttime

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    I'm sure someone else mentioned this a couple of days ago.

    Try going back to the old app and see what happens.

    As you posted in general discussion you haven't said what quad you have
     
  3. R4boat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Whoops............have the Ph 2 Vision. Thanks.
     
  4. R4boat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Just tried with the iOS (ipad) and the same issue..so doubt it is the app.
     
  5. Stealthdude

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this when taking off from a wall, turns out it was just the metal reinforcers in the wall. Moved the phantom elsewhere and it worked fine.
    Have you tried taking off from a different location?
     
  6. R4boat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Yes thanks. I went like 35 miles away this am and flew and had to recalibrate twice. And this is my Den where I always work on and calibrate the Phantom and this never happened in the past. This just started. I guess the compass could be going?
     
  7. R4boat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Thanks for the suggestions. No crashes and I am flying in familiar places and never had this problem before, just started out of the blue. So I may just purchase a new compass for $20. and see if that is the problem. Seems strange it all started with the new apps. Going to do some test today and try to get an older app back and see if that is the issue, if not open her up and see if something is loose.
     
  8. BWJ

    BWJ

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denmark

    You CANT calibrate compass in Assistant software !! thats done with Phantom in hand, the "Phantomdance"
     
  9. R4boat

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Yes thanks. I recalibrated the quad, and checked the parameters in the assistant software, then did the dance. Seems to be ok at the moment, so I will see the next time I fly.