Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

And now more problems...

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by marzipana, Jan 18, 2016.

  1. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    So, got my brand new replacement P3A via courier today. It's on fw 1.4 and I thought I'd leave it there for now. I've done the IMU calibration in an airconditioned room, I've calibrated the gimbal. Took it out to the local football oval (where I did successfully calibrate the first P3A) and I can't calibrate the compass. So I move about 15 metres away and try again, nothing. Moved to another spot, still nothing. 4 tries in different locations and all the same message.

    So I come home again, and try to calibrate in the empty rural block next to our property. Same issue again, won't calibrate the compass.

    I had NO metal on me all, no earrings, watch, rings, nothing. I didn't have my iPhone close to the P3A, I set that (attached to the remote controller) on the ground and moved away from them each time.

    iPhone was in airplane mode the whole time.

    The first unit I had two days before there was an error with GPS dropout...now the replacement unit won't let me calibrate the compass. Right about now I'm ready to tear my hair out. :(
     
  2. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    What is actually happening.
    Does it go into calibration mode as you'd expect?
    Are you definitely doing it correctly (apologies if experienced user but I have seen some very odd mis-conceptions!)
    With the P3 I find you need to go more like one and a half turns - well more than 360 degrees - before the light changes.
     
  3. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes, it goes into calibration mode, I keep turning more than one single time...first horizontally, then pointing the aircraft downwards according to the illustration in the Go app...and then the error message comes up. I'm holding it a metre off the ground as instructed.
     
  4. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    Before you give up the compass sensor may be stuck. If you have a screwdriver that has a magnetic end to it wave it right next to the compass in a round movement and on both sides. Then retry to calibration. This will some time so to speek degause the compass and slow it to function again. Worth a try.
     
  5. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    I just tried it again, I get a solid green light after the horizontal rotation, with the battery pack facing me, and then when I point it face down and turn one and half circles, I get flashing red lights...
     
  6. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Um, I have no idea where the compass is even located? Nor what it actually looks like?
     
  7. John473

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    Have you tried the hard IMU calabration at the flight location? Worked for me. Never herd of or thought of the magnetic trick. I'm new at this but the hard set worked for me.
     
  8. John473

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    3
    RoyVe, can you elaborate a bit on the locations of the compass and this technique?
     
  9. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    If this round silver disc is the compass, then no, it's not responding at all to a magnetic screwdriver...the Phantom is switched off, does it have to be on?

    IMG_4057.JPG
     
  10. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    I did an IMU calibraton indoors on a flat surface in an airconditioned room as soon as the RC and battery were charged. I didn't do one at the oval, I never needed to do that with the other P3A, calibration of the compass just worked.
     
  11. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    3,438
    The compass in on the bottom of the landing gear.
    You'll see a small cover plate.
    Are you stopping at 1.5 turns or going further?
    I just do the vertical until it turns green
     
  12. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Same, I stop and turn it face down when the lights go green after the horizontal circle...but they just flash red after I've done the vertical rotation. Is the compass in here??

    IMG_4058.JPG
     
  13. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Yes that is the compass.
     
  14. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    3,438
    That's your compass sensor
     
  15. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,861
    Likes Received:
    5,556
    Location:
    US
    Which error message do you see?
     
  16. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    So what am I supposed to do, wave a screwdriver near it and then try to calibrate the compass again?
     
  17. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    So I waved a screwdriver around the compass cover - I haven't removed the cover, don't know if that matters or not...But I tried to calibrate outside again and still nothing...green solid light in the horizontal position, but red flashes at the end of the vertical turn. In the last image, where it says No attitude data, the little circle to the left was flashing all colors, blue, green, red, pink, yellow...

    IMG_4059.PNG IMG_4060.PNG IMG_4061.PNG
     
  18. rockydog

    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Messages:
    880
    Likes Received:
    248
    Location:
    London UK
    The 'No Attitude Data' may mean that your IMU calibration wasn't successful....try doing that again (dead level surface), and the give the compass another go.
    I'm not stating this as a fact, but it seems quite likely.
     
  19. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    I tried another IMU calibration this morning, took the P3A outside and still no luck with the compass.

    So, another four hour round trip to Melbourne to have them take a look at it. Tech did all the firmware upgrades and another IMU and compass was dead for him too, brand new out of the box. So at least I know it wasn't anything I did.

    So, they replaced again, Phantom no.3 now...because I live so far away we thought it would be good to update everything while I was there, do the calibrations and check how it flies - this time all went smoothly. So hopefully third time lucky


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Καλλιστώ likes this.
  20. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,717
    Likes Received:
    3,438
    You've certainly had a run of bad luck.
    Now that's all behind you it should be easy from here on.
     
    marzipana likes this.