An open Letter to DJI ( Please read)

Reaction score
As a corporate attorney I feel compelled to write this letter. In the last few days I had a very experienced multi copter friend loose a Phantom due to a "fly away" I just read of another forum friend who had the same experience yesterday. I HIGHLY suggest you make yourselves heard if you experienced a loss of total control with this unit. Yes, there are definitely problems associated with user error but there are just as many due to faulty hardware/ firmware etc. These fly aways are still a problem and DJI has not addressed this issue in a timely manner period.

My letter is as follows:

" These fly aways are pathetic! There are forums dedicated to fly aways with these phantoms and your company has done NOTHING to date to correct it! I'm a corporate attorney in the state of NJ and you have my word that If one of these fly aways results in damage or injury I will bankrupt your company in court! I am compiling all the anecdotal and forum data as well as names and numbers of people experiencing total loss of control.

Your dealers are dissuading people from using your latest firmware as its UNSTABLE. Yes, I'm sure there is some user error associated with these fly aways but many seasoned RC pilots are experiencing random, unexplained fly aways and a total loss of control! Your hardware/ software/ firmware is NOT functioning correctly PERIOD. Either get this under control ASAP and address your customers concerns or I promise you, you will be headed for a legal battle that will wipe you out financially. Do not view this as a threat, but a promissory letter of intent.

Below is a link to a thread. Do some reading for God sakes, in the meantime my flying friends and I will dissuade as many people as we can to steer VERY clear of your offerings!"

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1872000