Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Amped wireless sr10000

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by tmartin62, Sep 20, 2014.

  1. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    OMG is all I can say.

    If you use the fc40 camera you need this!

    I used stock antennas and iPhone 5s. I flew out until my craft was a speck in the sky and wifi video worked perfectly. Not a single drop or lag.

    I don't think I will ever want to fly farther than that. Very happy.

    Next I will test it with my gopro. I know about the lag but I'm ok with it for my usage.
     
  2. galencg10

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    1
    Can you give a little more details? I'm looking to extend the wifi, but keep my FC40 camera (when it comes back from DJI). Have you tried with an android device?
    Thanks.
     
  3. mikeg26

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingwood, Texas
    Please tell us about your GoPro test. Highly interested!!!

    Thanks
     
  4. mikeg26

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingwood, Texas
    And details about how you configured it.
     
  5. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    Unfortunately I did not get to try the gopro this weekend. I got called to work and didn't have enough time afterward.

    I will be back home Thursday and hope to do it then. I will definitely post the results ASAP.

    As far as configuring for the fc40, it was so easy. I just followed the quick setup with the repeater and let it connect to the camera. Then connect the phone to the repeater. Be sure to name the repeater FC40_something. I called mine FC40_WIFI. The app will only work with the prefix being named fc40_.

    I can post screen shots or a quick video later if needed.
     
  6. slothead

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Frederick, MD, USA
    How big is the Amped Wireless SR10000? and how do you power yours tmartine62?

    If you've got it plugged into a wall-wart, then I guess you must just use it close to home. If you've got it on a dc supply (battery, etc.) where do you set it while you are flying - on the ground near you, strapped to the back of your RC controller, where?
     
  7. LRPLIN

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go google AMped Wireless SR10000 , or ebay search it, usually runs around $60.0 for used. I use a 3s lipo to power mine, and it works perfectly fine with my FC40. I just let it sit on top of my car or even on the ground.
     
  8. LRPLIN

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. mikeg26

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingwood, Texas
    tmartin,

    Looking forward to your gopro/SR10000 link and specific instructions on application!

    Thanks,

    mikeg26
     
  10. tmartin62

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central Mississippi
    I worked on it a little last weekend and didn't quite get it configured. I think I know what I did wrong. Will try again this weekend when I get back in town from my business trip.
     
  11. mikeg26

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kingwood, Texas
    Thanks, tmartin, looking forward to it!