Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Amp on Extender

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Happyflyer, Nov 2, 2014.

  1. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    For the pros out there:
    I have the amp shown below. I also have the P2V+ RE-700 extender on my controller. Somewhere I read about using this amp that the output of the RE-700 was too much for the input of the Sunhans amp and an attenuator had to be used between them. If correct, where can one be purchased?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. joco

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check with Chris Hyde at photosareus.com
     
  3. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    That web site is for sale.
     
  4. enterprise1

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv. USA
  5. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Purrrrrrrrrfect.
    Thanks.
     
  6. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I've been using this same amp (slightly newer version) for over a month without any attenuator and it works fine.

    I believe the RE-700 maxes out at 100mW output and the Sunhans 2.4 GHz amp can accept up to 100mW (20 dBm) input as per it's spec sheet.

    I have the Sunhans Model SH-2500 (shown below) and your photo looks different than my amp --- so not sure if the input specs are the same? I assume they are.


    [​IMG]
     
  7. varmint

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Hillsboro, OR
    Slightly OT, but does anyone have any experience trying to use a 12v step-up to power these amps off the 6vTx power? I've been thinking about using one, but probably won't if I need to strap on a separate battery.
     
  8. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    I have seen set ups where they mounted the amp under the controller and added a 12 V battery next to it. Have not seen where anyone used anything else. My version has a 6 volt adapter and will run off a 5 volt 12,000 MAh phone charger in my pocket.
    .
    About the same specs. Mine will run on 5 volts. Most discussions I have found state the RE-700 just may overload the amp and actually cause less FPV distance. As with any electronic device, YMMV.
     
  9. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I've had my P2V+ out to 2.5 miles before I lost control signal --- so I'm pretty happy with FPV distance using this amp (using a half-dome antenna from FPVLR.com on the output side of it as well as bird-side pinwheel antennas) :p The bird-side pinwheels make a HUGE difference --- probably tripled max. range compared to the stock FPV antennas on the Phantom.

    However, I'm a firm believer in empirical evidence --- so if you have the patience, just make a few runs with and without the attenuator on the same day on the same flight path and see what kind of results you get. That's the only to know for sure if the attenuator makes an appreciable difference in max. FPV distance. :)
     
  10. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
    Yes, I have all the antennas for my P2V from FPVLR, but have not been able to test yet. Waiting for longer cables for the camera. Before the antennas on the quad I reached 8,000 feet and still had control. But I had to fly sideways to keep FPV. That was only at 425 feet up. So darn cold here now that one does not want to fly much. Cables will be here Tuesday so if wind and rain/snow stay away I may be able to try with all the antennas working. Will try with and w/o amp and see.
    .
    Since you mentioned you have the clover antennas, beware, I lost one of my 5.8 off the quad. Going to use loc-tight and cable ties to make sure they stay on. Too expensive to loose those antennas.
     
  11. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I use a couple wrappings of electrical tape around the connectors of both bird-side pinwheels to the landing gear. I don't see how they could fall off using that method, but I suppose nothing is impossible once that bird is up in the air and getting buffeted by the winds.

    With the combo of Sunhans amp and bird-side pinwheels --- be prepared to send that puppy WAYYY out there in the cold Michigan atmosphere :D
     
  12. Happyflyer

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Cold, Cold, Michigan
  13. MadMitch88

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    I was at 400 ft. AGL when I hit the 2.5 mile mark --- but this flight was in Northeast Ohio where it's rather flat. I was in a rural area full of cornfields and devoid of tall trees, buildings, and WiFi interference so that helps, too! :D

    Do yourself a favor and buy the bird-side 2.4 GHz pinwheel antennas from FPVLR.com and you'll be quite happy at the improved range (at moderate altitude). :p

    The odd thing I've discovered in my long-range testing is that if I sit down (for comfort) and place the Tx on a picnic table I tend to lose signal at around 1.5 miles but if I stand up I can squeeze out another mile of range --- hard to believe that extra 2 or 3 ft. of altitude on my end can make that kind of impact. :eek:
     
  14. enterprise1

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nv. USA
    I use a 10000mah power pack with one 12 volt output and 2 usb (2amp and 1amp) outputs. Think the usb outputs are 5 volt. Seems like it should be possible to run Tx from one of the usb outputs. Was going to try that but lost the idea until I read your post. If you can use rechargable nicads to power Tx at about 4.8 volts then 5 volt usb should be ok.

    I run 2 amplifiers from my power pack (2.4ghz and 5.8ghz) and 1 usb to the extender. Uses about 25% of power pack capacity per three 15 minute flights.