Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Am I missing something...Camera wont move

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Flyboy, May 10, 2014.

  1. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    I have my new P2V Plus. Read the manual did all the calibrations. Everything seems good to go, but the camera just tilts down on a 45 degree angle and I cannot get it to move. It levels for a second when I fire the bird up, then it just point down. I can connect to it with the app. I binded it, but have no control over it with the app. I am sure this has been discussed here, but the search on the board is a little difficult. Am I missing something. No errors, gimbal has a green light...???
     
  2. quadcopter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Can you see a picture the camera sees?
     
  3. dscott77

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Yikes! I haven't encountered this. Are you saying that you see the vertical adjustment on the left of the screen and that touching this does nothing?
     
  4. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Yes. It just wont move. I can level it out when when there is no power to the bird. If I put the lenses cap on, the weight of the cap tilts it straight down.
     
  5. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Correct
     
  6. dscott77

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Do other screens controls work, such as switching between stills and video? If so, you could try enabling the Accelerometer Sensor Mode, then tilt the controller and see if this moves the camera.
     
  7. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Where is this setting at? I can switch between video and picture. It will shoot video and take pictures, just won't move.
     
  8. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    Re: Am I missing something...

    It resembles a blue globe, above the arrows on the left.
     
  9. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Re: Am I missing something...

    It's a white globe and it does nothing if I press it. I have no control that way either. If I hit the arrows below, they move up and down the slider, but to camera movement.
     
  10. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Broke? it's new out of the box.
     
  11. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
  12. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    I am so pissed about this!!! Where the hell is the QC with Dji??
     
  13. quadcopter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Long shot but delete the App and reload it. Also try resetting your phone. iOS or android?
     
  14. quadcopter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Am I missing something...

    This is all normal on start up but you should be able to control up and down after this finishes..
     
  15. quadcopter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    If resetting the App and phone don't work you might do a reconnect or reset of the wifi extender to the phone app. This will reset the binding setup done at factory, Look at section 6 of the user manual. Download from this site PDF for 2+. Might as well try before sending back,

    http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-2-vi ... s/download
     
  16. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    In your video the camera and gimbal behave normally at start up, it seems unlikely there's any hardware problem.
     
  17. Flighttime

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    If its not the app as suggested above, you can try two more things.

    1) try checking for loose cables connecting between the camera gimbal controller and the phantom as one of the cables controls the tilt. You may need to open the phantom shell to just do a visual check on the phantom side.

    2) try tilting the camera via the 7th channel screw at the back of the transmitter (it's the pot above the FCC/CE pot). You can use a flathead screwdriver to turn this pot and see if the gimbal moves even when the app is running. It would be interesting if this works because this would mean that the phantom Naza-M V2 controller you have MAY have been programmed for a zenmuse gimbal hence the tilt function doesnt get handed over to the app when the app launches. (I.e. Same concept as the old phantom2tool for the Ch7 hack)
     
  18. Flyboy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2013
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Michigan
    Apologies to Dji for my QC comments :oops: . Once I just blew the IOS out on the iPhone and reinstalled the App, everything started working.

    I was really glad some of you chimed in and said the start-up was normal. I was a little concerned about that.

    Thanks for all the suggestions. Appreciated!

    Rick
     
  19. semaj

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, TX
    Re: Am I missing something...


    My brand new out the box one does the same thing... It will also sit and shutter/shift left to right... Can't tilt at all... I get a gimbal error on my screen as well... I do see video too...

    Mine was never flown, just taken out the box, charged, changed sticker colors to blue...

    Waiting for RMA from Drones ETC now...

    Don't fly it... Just return for a replacement...
     
  20. quadcopter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Am I missing something...

    Flyboy fixed his issue by deleting and reinstalling the App. Read his last post..