Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Altimeter

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by drone2016, Mar 27, 2016.

  1. drone2016

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    My p3s shows often a wrong altitude . Usually display 10 15 mt less than real
    Is any calibration I can perform ?
     
  2. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    No.... you need to allow for the error unfortunately, it is a common and well known issue.

    It seems most apparent at the end of a flight from a cold start. In my experience i had a greater error when running with a cold imu calibration (placing the phantom in the fridge immediately before calibrating). It seemed that recalibrating closer to average flying temps went a long way to resolving the issue.

    If i am flying where altitude is likley to be critical i do it after flying a full battery first and find less error.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,748
    Likes Received:
    3,459
    The altimeter is part of the IMU.
    Try recalibrating the IMU on a perfectly level surface.
    That might fix your problem.