Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Almost Lost My F550

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Tallyrver, Jul 6, 2015.

  1. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    . I was filming the fireworks on the fourth in Destin Fl. I'm not sure what happened yet but she got away from me.
    I may have hit the ATTI switch and the wind grabbed it .not sure. It was 9:00 PM. So it was very dark out. I lost orientation and panicked as I lost sight of it.
    I hit the RTH and hoped for the best. I found it a block away ,badly bruised . One arm broke,all six props shredded ,the bottom plate at the arm mount is cracked and GPS mast broke. I recovered the video, I had it up about 100 ft hovering in GPS mode. after 7 min it started to drift, that's when I may have hit the ATTI mode. The camera was still facing in the same direction .it only sped up once then hit a power line at about 45 ft up.
    Now I'm waiting for the UPS man to bring me some repair parts.
    Wayne
     
    Ti22 likes this.
  2. Ti22

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    86
    Location:
    San Diego
    I feel your pain, there’s always next year. I recently lost an RCLogger EYE Extreme - flew away, bye bye…. I can relate to that sad feeling brother but fortunately you have something to repair. I’m staring at an empty box and extra props/battery…
     
    Tallyrver likes this.
  3. freelanceshots

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2013
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    Share video link please. Want to see.
     
  4. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    All the parts for the rebuild are in. New E600 motor,Aimdroix arm,new top plate.
    My Walkera G3d took a pretty good hit,bent the arm but didn't break. The Storm32 controller is fine. I just upgraded the firmware to the latest version.
    [​IMG]