Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

All-in-One firmware Version: v1.6.80 Bricked my Bird

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by krell, May 13, 2016.

  1. krell

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, tried to update firmware on my P3S and firmware failed. It downloaded fine but during installation it got stuck at 50% then it indicated it failed. Tried to install again but when i powered up the bird I get a loud steady Beep and no way to install. Called dji and they are asking me to send it in. Thought before I send it in I might try the group and see if anyone has a solution. Graduation cap firmware downgrade shows nothing available. The "about" screen in the app says "version not available". The gimble shows steady green light. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance
     
  2. axbagus

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Have you try update via sdcard ?
     
  3. Buzz rabbit

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2016
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Hove East Sussex England
    Mines buggered too. It's going back to Dji


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. krell

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried the SD card update but that didn't work. I'm going to try it again this evening.
    Just so I'm straight on the SD card trick......
    1. reformat card FAT 32 on a desktop machine
    2. copy .bin file back to card @ root level
    3. insert card into camera and start bird
    4. wait and hope
     
  5. axbagus

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    Good luck bro .. bin file same one or different firmware? If same try other.. maybe corrupt file ..
     
  6. krell

    Joined:
    May 13, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    .bin file is different firmware from another SD card.
     
  7. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    I've seen a lot of people attempt this. None have been successful.
     
  8. KevinFL

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll bet you will need to send it in and get charged for it. Haven't seen many things fixed by DJI as they will always find a way to say you did it.
     
  9. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    I tried it and it didn't work. Am working a ticket now with DJI on this problem. I just got it new on Thursday and ran the update before I tried to fly. Should of waited I suppose to see how the update went for others. Just a bit impatient at the moment. Msinger do you have any idea what DJI is doing for this issue? Thanks.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,832
    Likes Received:
    5,546
    Location:
    US
    I'm assuming they will either reflash the firmware or send you a refurbished unit if it's a hardware issue.
     
    captainmilehigh likes this.
  11. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Hopefully it's a firmware update. Not too happy with the refurbished idea. This bird is brand new Thursday fresh off the UPS truck. It hasn't been off the ground yet except for the compass dance a few times. Thanks for your insight though. Patience is not one of my strong points.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. KevinFL

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    All I can say is good luck with dealing with DJI. I am having the worst Experience I have ever had with any company !

    My DJI NITEMARE
     
  13. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    Man, I hope you get it worked out. Good luck. Mine is just starting its dealings with DJI for the first time. Scary stuff.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. Perus

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Sweden/OSD
    The SD-card (with .BIN file) update procedure worked for me on the P3S (had the same loud sound). Saved me from sending the bird to DJI.

    This was with firmware prior to 1.3.0050...
    Formatting the SD-card in the bird is crucial though, it won't work if formatted in your computer. Been there....

    /Per
     
    captainmilehigh likes this.
  15. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    I'll have to try that one. Thanks.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    You will have to connected to the bird, to format in the bird, you might try to delete files on SD card instead. Also try starting the Phantom with out the card. Who Knows:rolleyes:
     
  17. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    No joy on the formatting the sd card. But, somehow I got connection ( for about 20 seconds) and tried the auto-takeoff button on the Go app ( the r/c 'start motors" thing wasn't working) and the motors started. Very glad I read other posts concerning troubleshooting these situations and had the props OFF during this test. While the motors were running I tried the left stick deal, and the CSC deal to shut the motors down, but they kept running. Hmmm. Finally had to shut battery off to stop them. Who knows where this P3S would have ended up if the props had been on. Probably somewhere between lost and found.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. RodPad

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    2,623
    Likes Received:
    362
    Location:
    Pacific,NorthWet, 97031
    Left stick, I don't think it would work, you never were in the air, it uses the barometer to tell itself when it has landed. If you want to try the procedure, lift in the air above your head use the lock down on the left control, bring down a couple feet slowly, it should power down in about 3 secs if you hold it still.

    If you put props on tether it with 15'-20' strong string, or lite rope.
     
  19. captainmilehigh

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    371
    Location:
    Northeast Florida
    As a follow up, I rounded up what I needed to check the sd card in the bird. There is nothing on the card. No files of any kind. Checked another card from a wrecked P3S and it had update files and a large.bin file that I could not open. And yes, I tried this card in the new Phantom and still no joy. That new DJI update for the Go app really scrambled stuff this time. And, ......NO PROPS till I know it's right. Anyway, thanks for the suggestions RodPad.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  20. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,088
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida