All about the Range

Reaction score
hello,

My name is Quinten and I am new to the drone scene with the P3s being my first ever drone. Had recently saw a video of the parrot disco fixed wing drone coming to reality and decided I would finally take a plunge into this hobby. Was initially going to buy their bebop 2 drone but seeing as this was the same price it was a no brainer which one to go with.

For one I live in Chicago in a very urban district so I know I'm going to have to drive out to parks or rural areas to really be able to use it. My question though has anyone used one in a city environment?? Is it even remotely possible??? Can I go to one of the neighborhood parks and still be able to affectively control it still being in a heavily populated area?

Two I plan on buying the dbs attenna mod to go with it but was reading that it doesn't really affect the video streaming. I hope that part isn't true as that's the part I'm interested in the most.

I'm honestly more interested in the fixed wing drones more than the helicopters which is why I can't justify myself spending close to 1k on one. Hopefully dji responds with a fixed wing one as well. Just hoping I can get some usefulness out of the p3s while I wait for that disco drone to come out.

Edit: forgot I'm also in a car club and was interested in getting rolling videos and pictures while we drive around. How capable do you think this drone is with having a moving point of interest like that.

Last edited:
You can absolutely pilot your drone in any public park in Line Of Sight. I flew my fpv quad in Central Park in NY and you should not have problems. Behind buildings, yes but not at the park!