Airspace around hospital helipads

Reaction score
How do I figure out the airspace class around a hospital helipad? Hospital helipads are shown on the charts, simply as the name of the hospital, followed by (R), then with a number (which I assume is above ground elevation). Thanks!

What's airspace class?

I'm still new at reading aviation charts. If there isn't any class listed for a particular location, that means at that loction the airspace defaults to Class G (uncontrolled)?

Maybe you can answer this one too:

Generally speaking, in class G airspace, is the minimum allowable elevation above the ground 1000 feet for something like a Cessna? Sometimes I see small planes flying around and I’m sure they are under 1000 feet. Thanks!

Maybe you can answer this one too:

Generally speaking, in class G airspace, is the minimum allowable elevation above the ground 1000 feet for something like a Cessna? Sometimes I see small planes flying around and I’m sure they are under 1000 feet. Thanks!

Don't be fooled by the 1000' rule. There are many, I mean MANY situations where that does not apply.

Reactions: captainmilehigh
Don't be fooled by the 1000' rule. There are many, I mean MANY situations where that does not apply.
What are some of the more common situations when the 1000' rule does not apply in Class G airspace? I'm assuming weather is one of them. What about non-weather related situations? Thanks

What are some of the more common situations when the 1000' rule does not apply in Class G airspace? I'm assuming weather is one of them. What about non-weather related situations? Thanks

I'm on my way out the door but some examples:

Search & Rescue
MediVac Heli

I'm on my way out the door but some examples:

Search & Rescue
MediVac Heli
Thanks. When you get back: if a pilot is just out flying his cessna for recreation in class G airspace, on a clear day, must he always remain above 1000'?