Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Airports....

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by efoote77, Jan 8, 2015.

  1. efoote77

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hypothetically speaking.... Is there any way to get a Phantom 2 with current firmware to fly, within 3 miles of an airport that is listed on the no-fly zone?
     
  2. BlackTracer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    Winter Park, FL USA
    Yes. Three ways. Gps mode < 6 sats. Atti mode < 6 sats. Manual mode.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    What about rolling back to an old firmware version? I'm not sure when this restriction was added. But, if it wasn't always part of the software, then it might be a possibility.
     
  4. efoote77

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is a recent addition, but to my knowledge you can no longer download older versions of the firmware.
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,969
    Likes Received:
    5,582
    Location:
    US
    efoote77, I didn't think it was possible to downgrade either. A few people say otherwise in the following thread though:

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=32773
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    You can find them all here:

    http://www.droneslinger.com/software.html