Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Aircraft Status Indicator Light

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by mmjax, Jun 25, 2015.

  1. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    I have noticed that ever since upgrading to the newest pilot app, my Aircraft Status Indicator light is grey all the time and that the status always shows normal. The Indicator light used to flash all the time, and I distinctly recall the status used to say "warming up" when I first power up the p3p. I have already deleted the cache, uninstalled and reinstalled the app, to no avail. I have flown several times since the upgrade without issue, but it still troubles me...
    Any thoughts?
     
    #1 mmjax, Jun 25, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2015
  2. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    iOS or android? Always helps to give that information.
     
  3. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yes I would say that's relevant information, sorry, not enough sleep :).
    Nvidia Shield running KitKat/Android.
     
  4. happydays

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,850
    Likes Received:
    659
    Location:
    Warrenpoint, Ireland
    Was the app downloaded from DJI or the app store? Apparently it makes a difference - I'm on iOS, so I can't help.
     
  5. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Downloaded straight from DJI.
     
  6. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Try rebinding the controller.

    Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
     
  7. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks for the suggestion. There's nothing about binding in the manual, and searches only seem to give results for the P2. Do you rebind the same way as a P2, if not, would you mind telling me how please? Thanks...feeling hopeful :)
     
  8. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I think it's called "connecting your controller" in the manual.

    Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk
     
  9. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    I found it, it's called "linking the remote controller". I was searching for the word "bind". I'll give this a try when I get home. Thanks!
     
  10. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Successfully re-linked the controller, made no difference to the status indicator. Any other ideas?
     
  11. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Guess I'll just wait for the next firmware update and see if that fixes it...
     
  12. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Try a different device. Sounds like your app got jacked up at some point.

    Sent from my SM-G920T using Tapatalk
     
  13. Nemmo

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6
    A have the news about problem with Aircraft Status Indicator Light in Android app ver 1.2.0. Ок. 1.Tonight a make a test. I take 3 different devices: supported Google Nexus( Acer) , non-sertified to support Samsng Galaxy S4mini & Nvidia Shield Tablet. 2. Download directly from DJI site DJI PILOT 1.2.0( android) install and connect to drone. Aircraft Status Indicator Light was grey on ALL devices!!! 3 Then I search to web and find out DJI PILOT 1.0.10( android), and install .ark to all my devices. When a connect one for another all devices to my Phantom3 pro(ver 1.2.16) I see that in all cases Aircraft Status Indicator Light was alive and indicate status of drone well.
     
  14. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thank you for testing this! I am glad to know this issue is not specific to me, it certainly sounds like a bug in the current version of DJI Pilot. Hopefully they'll release a new version soon!
     
  15. Nemmo

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    6

    Today I've recieved this comment. So that means they support the issue. I think

    Support3 EU
    (DJI)
    Jul 7, 12:51
    Hello, yes the firmware will release shortly.
    Best Regards,
    Technical Support
    DJI GmbH
     
    ctp likes this.
  16. bojtren

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2014
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, I have the same issue... After the new firmware update several days before, now on every turning on, I got a message "aircraft warming up". And, this warming up takes a few minutes. Before, aircraft was ready to fly after fey seconds.
    Please help
     
  17. ghidora

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Bartlett
    try to do IMU caliration with yr P3 as cold as possible, same happen to me too, it used to took around 4min+ but now around under 20sec.
     
  18. mmjax

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    22
    Not sure how this is the same issue...you need to do a cold imu calibration. Let the phantom cool down, then put it in front of an a/c vent (in the car works good) and let it get chilly. Then power it on (make sure you have the app already open and ready to go) and do an imu update as fast as you possibly can!

    As a side note (since I'm on this thread), the status light issue I had previously was fixed with a firmware update.