Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

after landing motors creep up on their own

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by silverfox71, Sep 29, 2014.

  1. silverfox71

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    for a while now when I start my fc40 the quad will sit and idle as long as I want. But once I have taken off and come back and land the motors will idle down but only for a few seconds then they start to speed up. I am forced to hold my throtle in the down postion until it stops all together. can anyon tell me why this could be happening? I looked at my setup in Naza and the motors are set in common speed for idle and also set for itelligent. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    It might be your radio needs calibrating ..
     
  3. silverfox71

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you are saying I should try and pull my controller apart and hook it up and calibrate?
     
  4. Mandrake

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2014
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Melbourne , Australia
    I think so - sounds like your thrust control needs a bit of TLC ...
     
  5. silverfox71

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Mandrake, I give er a go!
     
  6. Damon

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    674
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Eastern Wa.
    Wouldn't hooking up assistant to quad, show that suspected theory with throttle not centered?

    I'd check that first, before cracking open the remote for RC calibration.
     
  7. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    I think what you are seeing is normal. For me 2 Phantoms have done what you describe. I think what is going on is that even though it has landed it wants to hover at 0ft. Probably best to either shut it down or take off to avoid a tip over.
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    +1 Any time I manually land and don't shut the motors off immediately it will start to try to level itself off with lift from the props...it doesn't really know it has landed. Doesn't seem to happen when auto-land brings it down.
     
  9. silverfox71

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have tried just about everything and still have the same senerio. I guess we will just chockit up to " nature of the beast". Thanks for your input.