Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

After Effects help?

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by chuddly, Jun 26, 2014.

  1. chuddly

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana,USA
    I am very new to After Effects (CS3). I have a video i am trying to get to render but its keeps doing all kinds of crazy stuff.
    The first component is VERY grainy and poor resolution but all the rest are fine....any suggestions?
    The fade in and outs (done with opacity) are grainy also...???
    Im getting some sections of the video that are all stutter and the raw video is not like that at all????

    The computer is a new Lenovo W540 with an I7 proc and 16 gig of RAM. I guess my biggest question is about settings in the render queue??? what should i use? any ideas on where to go? T
    Thanks in advance!
     
  2. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    Are you mixing frame rates?
     
  4. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure the composition that you're creating the video on (timeline) is in the proper resolution and frame rate that you want to export it as. Make sure this isn't higher than your imported video.

    In the render settings, I believe there are preset dropdowns that will get you started for export settings.
     
  5. chuddly

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana,USA
    Trust me I tried to google it...have been looking through things for 3 days now. The settings are all the same (1920x1080 and all the same frame rates). I tried upping the frame rates to 60fps leaving it at the default 29.97 and 30 fps. No change at all.
     
  6. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    Should not be, what are you rending too? Quicktime? AVI?
     
  7. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    It does often depend on what codec you're exporting (and bit rate). -and don't do 60fps, it'll never play back smoothly

    If you're uploading to youtube, maybe try MPEG4 at high quality.
     
  8. chuddly

    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana,USA
    i did finally get it to work after playing with some settings....Also i got it to play super smooth at 60 fps also. Not saying anyone is wrong...just saying that i did. Thanks for the suggestions it helped point me in the right direction of what to look at and change settings on.
     
  9. Jebus

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unless you're planning on editing it further, I'd recommend exporting to either 30fps or 24fps.
     
  10. CarlJ

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Peru, Indiana
    good advice