Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

After crash Phantom 2 vision + just beeps.

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by eyegeorge, Feb 15, 2015.

  1. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello people.

    After a GPS flight I turned to manual today to practice. It was about 20 ft above a grass area. I did some forward backward and side moves and it tilted on a sharp angle and it crashed. 2 broken props and bent gimbal arm. Battery was still in contact. It was on. I turned it off and put replacement props. I turned it on and there was just a beeping sound. The sound is the same as the sound of upgrading the firmware. I opened it, removed gimbal and saw that the wifi metal box had a dent . I opened the wifi box. The 2 boards look fine inside. I straightened the metal box. Apart form these physical damages I can't see anything else.The Phantom doesn't even connect to assistant. Any opinions? I checked all the connections and they looked fine. No fried plastics smell no burnt cables. ESC's look fine I don't know about the motors but they turn fine with hand rotation. I don't think a video would help, so I don't post one unless you want to hear the sound.

    Thank you for your attention.
     
  2. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    You'll need to hook it to PC ASSISTANT,
    Via USB to computer.
    Do an ADVANCED IMU calibration,
    Followed by tx calibration ( your remote )
    ( might as well since you are already hooked up )
    Then go outside do a FRESH compass calibration,
    Should fly like new!

    Keeps us informed!

    Take care, fly safe!
    J Dot
     
  3. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Did not realize you could not hook to PC!
    Do you have a spare battery? Your battery might be damaged?
    Also check CLOSELY for any broken solder joints, or unplugged connections
    Even connection on compass, check EVERYTHING CLOSELY!

    Let us know?

    J Dot
     
  4. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I put another battery. It didn't change a thing. I will inspect every solder joint. If wifi is broken could this be the cause of the beeping sound?
     
  5. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    Not sure?
    Sounds like IMU issue to me, but we NEED to
    Hook to PC to fix, so that is our first priority!

    Have you tried to hook to PC with second battery?
    I Would inspect Usb Port and cable on phantom.

    I will look to see if there is a hard start process?
    Will get back to you!

    J Dot
     
  6. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,757
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
  7. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the video. I've already seen it. I just don't get it. I understood the broken power cable but what was the next issue? I didn't understand it
     
  8. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Your symptoms indicate that the Naza unit is not getting power.

    Do you have a multimeter? If so, measure the voltage at the wire that goes into X3. Brown is ground, red should be +5.5V.

    If no voltage there, take a good look at the inductor that sits at the corner of the wifi box. It's the large square part that looks like it might have 4 legs, but really has just 2. It sometimes gets loose, or loses good contact with the board. Soldering it back in place may fix your issue.
     
  9. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will sureley do that. What are the chances that NAZA broke?
     
  10. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    I checked what I understand you said. It looks normal
     
  11. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Do you have 5.5V at the X3 connector wire?
     
  12. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have any voltage reading . I dont know if i measured it in the right way. So it might be the main board?
     
  13. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Pull the X3 connector out from the Naza. If you study it, you'll notice one side of the connectors has "windows" with the inner gold contacts showing through.
    You can touch the multimeter probes to these contacts to measure the voltage (though be careful not to short the probes together; you can put tape over all
    except the very tip to help prevent this). You can also just clip the black probe to a ground contact anywhere on the board (easiest is at an ESC shield wire),
    and then you only have to probe with the red probe. Just probe the red wire of X3 (middle wire). Should give some reading. Also touch one of the "V"
    contacts for the ESCs to verify that you read battery voltage there.
     
  14. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Except for the windows inside those plugs every surface has a water resistant or maybe anti humid covering (it is glossy). I really cannot read voltages. But i tried the windows as you said and there was just millivolts. Main board doesn't look physically damaged. Unlike NAZA. I detached it and I saw bent-cracked cover. Circuits inside look ok though. Whatever windows I tested there was no voltage. Any other thoughts?
     
  15. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Well, it sounds like the voltage regulator on the main board is broken. A new main board is about $60.

    (I forgot about the clearcoat. You have to use pins to poke through it, then hold the probe against the pin. Or get really sharp probes.)
     
  16. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ordered one already. Clearcoat is a pain! Does alcohol dissoolve it?
     
  17. eyegeorge

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep! It was the board!!! I replaced it and I upgraded it! Nice! I am starting to assemble this mess back again!