Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Aerial Still Photography With a Pentax Q and Phantom

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by iCrop, Oct 23, 2013.

  1. iCrop

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I picked up a Pentax Q last year. It's small and has interchangeable lenses and it seemed perfect for aerial photography. I discovered the Phantom shortly thereafter, but it was expensive. When the Phantom dropped $200 I snapped one up. I've posted a brief tutorial on mounting the Q to the Phantom and posted some photos for anyone interested. Just go to MCHerdering Photography and click on the 'Aerial Photography' link on the upper left.
    Here's what it looks like:
    [​IMG]
    Please don't laugh too hard at my landing gear 'shims'. :lol: I have an upgrade to that on the way...
     
  2. Peter Patricelli

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eugene, OR USA
    The weight of the camera is 180 gms....and it is unclear if that weight is with or without a lens....compared to 78 gms for a Hero3. BUT...if shooting stills...since it has image stabilization, a gimbal is probably not necessary. So, overall the weight may be within commonly carried dimensions. Video would require a gimbal.

    Can you post some pictures...stills...AND video?
     
  3. iCrop

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Peter -
    Actually the camera is 200gm, the lens ~80. Moving toward the limit. I get around 5-7 minutes of flight time.

    Have not shot any video yet, I'm a still photographer. Stills are at my web site http://www.mcherderingphotograpy.com and click on the 'Aerial Photography' link in the upper left (a few things there and more to come). But here's a link to a photo of the house I grew up in (shot with the Pentax Q and 01 Prime):
    [​IMG]
    That's me bottom center.
    Thanks for looking...
     
  4. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    How are you triggering the shutter? Does it have a time-lapse function so you just set it going and then fly?
     
  5. iCrop

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. the camera has a built in intervalometer.
     
  6. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Interesting. I may look in to this camera myself then. Reviews say it's pretty poor when compared to m4/3 cams but in this game, weight is the key.
     
  7. iCrop

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    A bigger sensor would be nice, but I haven't found a m4/3 camera/lens combo as light as this...