Advice needed on Image Quality

Reaction score
I am trying to decide between buying a P2V+ and a P2 with a Gopro Hero 3+. I would be grateful for any advice. I have no experience with quadcopters.

Image quality is foremost for me. I am a retired professional photographer and intend to use the machine for stills as much as video. The ability to shoot camera RAW (.dng) with the P2V+ has great appeal. However, most people seem to think that the Gopro is a better camera. That said, I would have to spend much more to include FPV.

I have tried to find a website from which I could download a full-size .dng file to inspect before buying. Maybe some kind soul on this forum could email me a couple of images?

In any case, if you care about image quality and helping me out, I would appreciate your advice.

clpix said:
I am trying to decide between buying a P2V+ and a P2 with a Gopro Hero 3+. I would be grateful for any advice. I have no experience with quadcopters.

Image quality is foremost for me. I am a retired professional photographer and intend to use the machine for stills as much as video. The ability to shoot camera RAW (.dng) with the P2V+ has great appeal. However, most people seem to think that the Gopro is a better camera. That said, I would have to spend much more to include FPV.

I have tried to find a website from which I could download a full-size .dng file to inspect before buying. Maybe some kind soul on this forum could email me a couple of images?

In any case, if you care about image quality and helping me out, I would appreciate your advice.

It's a pretty complicated answer, but to put it short and sweet:
The GoPRO Hero 3+ Black will take some phenomenal video for you. In fact, it's video is unparalleled by the Vision+ camera.
The Vision+ Camera however takes STUNNING photographs. With a true 14MP RAW image capture ability, the Vision+'s photo capabilities surpass the Black's photography capabilities.